BlackFog Privacy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by liba, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,153
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Not sure. Business users may prefer it ... create an option?
     
  2. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    382
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I confirm blackfog is important, just after blackfog license ran out my mother's PC got infected probably via MS teams
     
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,153
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Darren, any update?
     
  4. PwT

    PwT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Hi: I have a two user personal BF account from March, back in April I removed MS Office 365 to use an alternative - Since then I have been unable to install BlackFog/Update it - I appreciate there maybe a registry glitch & support weren't really able to help & it was suggested the install is damaged - I accept that but I cannot do a reinstall as there are programs that require a long time to setup as my installs are quite complicated - The issue is that BF cannot start a service, however over the last three months I installed different AV Suites, other Office installs, & many other programs that require services to be added removed & BF i the only program that has this issue - Searching the web does seem to show this error only occurs with BF & an old version of iTunes. I've reverted to AdGuard For Windows & was hoping a future build of BF may solve the issues as hinted by support but the latest update I can find in back in March? At some point in the future I can do a full reinstall but I can't now, it does seem the BF installer is maybe a little oversensitive? Obviously few in any registry's or installs are perfect but as I miss BlackFog but apart from this glitch the PC runs perfectly. Updating to Windows 2004 changed nothing - PC Ryzen 3 / 32 GIG memory / 240 GIG / SSD / 4TB spinner - Thank you.
     
  5. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    @PwT I will get the guys to look at this as it will be related to the installer rather than the app itself. Could you PM me your email address so we can send you a beta installer to try out to see if its resolved.

    @paulderdash, we do have a beat version to try for you if you can PM me your email address.
     
  6. PwT

    PwT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Derby UK
    @Darren Williams - Looks like as only one post at this point I can't PM? Can you PM please, I was a member for many years but due to inactivity ben removed :):)
     
  7. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    Please email me at dwilliams at blackfog.com
     
  8. PwT

    PwT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Brilliant service from Darren, problem solved - Thank you! :):):):)
     
  9. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    Note we have just release BlackFog 4.5 today. Key additions are a number of new attack vectors now blocked and many new Mitre codes. Some other new ones include blocking TikTok and Homograph protection. The complete release notes can be found on our web site here. Thanks for everyone's help.
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,069
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Darren,

    I just had Windows Defender block BF trying to update.

    My other machine running Norton updated successfully without issue.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/wds...Trojan:Win32/Wacatac.E!ml&threatid=2147749374
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    Pretty amusing since Microsoft actually signed all the binaries last week themselves. Pretty much validates why existing technologies are so bad at detecting attacks. We will reach out to them and let them know. Haven't seen this on other machines yet, but thanks for the report.
     
  12. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    Reported to Microsoft as:

    Submission ID: ef9cc13f-fd4c-43ba-ba82-b9147c17a39b

    Status: Submitted

    Submitted: Jul 16, 2020 7:44:05 PM

    User Opinion: Incorrect detection
     
  13. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    This evening I got two alerts from VoodooShield that seemed to occur at just about the time that BlackFog Privacy was trying to update:

    VoodooShield.png


    FPs? Should I whitelist these files?

    Thanks.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,069
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I had to allow two command lines in VS when BF was updating.
     
  15. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Thanks! I suspected these files were related to BF, although I decided to err on the side of caution this time.
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,476
    Darren,

    It has been awhile. I am interested in purchasing but did not know if there are any current discounts. I would need this for a few machines. Is it still possible to get this with the Enterprise console? If you want to take this to PM, please advise. Thanks!

    EDIT: PM sent just in case.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2020
  17. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    europe
    hi..Darren

    big problem with the 4.5 update
    black screen after login => we only see the cursor on a black background
    Windows desktop problem
    kerish doctor attempts to fix the system failure without success with "createexplorerunlevatedshell"
    I was able to get away with restoring my macrium reflect image and stay @4.3.1 (b480)
    but my brother without a restoration tool is screwed...

    br.

    p.s
    we're using andyful hard configurator by the way, I don't know if it's related
    and still on windows v1909
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2020
  18. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    @acid king, we have had this in testing for several months now and have never heard of this. We have at least 10k endpoints upgraded over 30 days so I cannot even imagine what it could be. We have not done anything dramatic to since 4.3.1, just additional performance and a few extra features. Feel free to PM me if you need some assistance on this. We are curious.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2020
  19. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    europe
    Yea sorry
    it seems to be an update from windows that crashes system desktop.. (KB4565483)
    Not BF
    Great ChangeLog by the way with new protections and mitigations

    We re going to update to Windows v2004 to escape this crash desktop

    Thank you for your support & have a nice day..

    Best Regards.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2020
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,069
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://www.blackfog.com/changelog-privacy-win/
     
  21. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    europe
    Finally i had another crashing black screen after new 4.5.1
    Maybe because i had Andyful FirewallHardening with Recommanded H_C rules
    like
    Block: C:\Windows\system32\msiexec.exe
    Block: C:\Windows\sysWOW64\msiexec.exe

    I guess it crashes the blackfog update and gives me that famous black desktop screen at startup after logging in.
    I'm gonna stop using andyful's firewallhardening and put glasswire back into "ask to connect" mode.

    br.
     
  22. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    @acidking Seems like blocking msiexec.exe is a pretty serious thing to do since its used to install an msi file so I am not shocked it causes issues with the update really. All we are doing here is running and msi file to update to the latest image so we expect that core system file to be available.

    Just for reference we also validate any use of msiexec from any process so you are protected from any hijacks here with BlackFog running.
     
  23. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    europe
    Thanks you Darren for reference information.
    Cheers to BlackFog Team for your fantastic product with great layers of protection.

    br.
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,153
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  25. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    336
    Location:
    California
    @paulderdash The 4.5 ui is still in memory, just quit the app from the taskbar option and then restart it and it will be 4.5.1. It has no impact on the app except the version information.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.