BlackFog Privacy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by liba, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    europe
    so i have "Server Error: 500 Response: Server Error" in log
    but now i also have error when i check update in help menu.

    "Checking for Updates - Unable to find ressource on server. Please check if the URL is correct."

    br.
     
  2. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    That's correct as we are in the process of updating to 4.0.3. Stay tuned.
     
  3. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    4.0.3 has a few improvements in the underlying kernel driver to make it more stable and use faster memory. So that should solve any lingering issues for a small number of people.
     
  4. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    It's showing on your website now, but you get an error when trying to download it? All other versions of BF can be downloaded.

    2019-10-03 18_20_10-s3.amazonaws.com_blackfog.downloads.us_BlackFogPrivacySetup.exe.png
     
  5. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    Access enabled now.
     
  6. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    Worked, will try it later today or tomorrow and see if the BSODS i saw are gone. Frustratingly no crash dump when they happened.

    Thank you. :)
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,359
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Auto-updated to v4.0.3 (b290) here at 05:23 local time (GMT+2).

    Had to restart to get taskbar icon back. (Restart necessary anyway this a.m. with Cumulative Update KB4524147 to W10 Pro x64 build 18362.388 ).
     
  8. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello,
    yesterday I purchased the license for BlackFog Privacy and I thinks it's a good product.
    I'm getting the following error message in log

    Insecure HTTP Error 12152: The server returned an invalid or unrecognized response
    Server Error: 12152 Response:

    As soon as I installed the software I created rules in my Firewall to allow access to Internet for Privacy.exe, privacyupdater.exe and privacysvc.exe but I still get this error.

    Thanks
     
  9. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    europe
    @Serphis
    i dont understand why we have some pb to get BlackFog acces to the internet since the V4
    Do you have some "Server Error: 500 Response: Server Error" ?!

    Like u said BF get access through firewall (glasswire monitor for me) but still have this kind of error...

    In order to understand and find our problem:
    What is your config and major sowfware/hardware ?!
    Did you tweak Windows like me ?! (Windows Privacy Dashboard, some services, etc ..)
    Do you use wifi on your device ?!

    br.
     
  10. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi acid king,

    I don't have the "Server Error: 500 Response: Server Error" and when I click on the Update button I manage to reach the BlackFog update servers because I get the message that the Software is up to date.
    I only have the error "Insecure HTTP Error 12152", but I don't know what it is related to.
    I have Windows 10 Home version 1809 Build 17763.775, just updated, no tweaking software and I have a ADSL Internet connection, no wi-fi.
     
  11. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    The only thing it can relate to is getting the results from geo location data which comes from geoip.blackfog.com. Since this is the only non secure server we use. Now these requests are authenticated, so any application which modified any headers or anything will cause this issue. We cant seem to replicate it even on the same OS version.

    That specific code is also identical to 3.7 through 4.0 as well, so it should work the same way as earlier editions.
     
  12. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    Serphis, one of our backend guys just improved the error responses from that server farm. It is possible that if it is resolving unknown IP's you can get this message. We have made it so that it wont send that message back now, so please let me know if that helps you. It has no effect on the app per se, just the message returned. It should function normally regardless. However, because we like a clean log lets see if that removes it for you.
     
  13. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you for the reply, Darren. I've booted the PC 20 minutes ago and no "Insecure HTTP Error 12152" error so far in BlackFog Privacy log so I think this issue is solved.
     
  14. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello again,
    unfortunately some minutes ago I got the same error but I see from your post that BlackFog Privacy works fine anyway, even with that message, so I believe this issue isn't too important.
     
  15. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    Not seeing any errors on our side now, so it will be more likely a simple network connection error. It will keep working normally though. Should be much more rare now.
     
  16. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    europe
    @Darren Williams

    I like clean log too :)
    No more "Server Error: 500 Response: Server Error" at the moment
    Good backend process
    Thank you for great support

    br.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2019
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,359
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Is taskbar icon right-click>Check for Update and Dashboard>Help>Updates the same?

    In neither case do I get an 'up to date' message ...

    Rules are still Sep 23, 2019 ... is that correct?
     
  18. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    @paulderdash
    Yes, that's the same procedure, I get the same message that the Software is up to date; maybe you can't reach the update servers, I don't know.
    Btw the rules are dated 23 September 2019.
     
  19. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    Yes all the same. But remember if you have an Enterprise license, it is a little different in that you won't get the feedback because it's controlled from the master console.
     
  20. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello,
    after installing BlackFog Privacy I have noticed from time to time a hard disk thrashing for 4-5 seconds. The same thing occurs when I click on
    the Exfiltration tab.
    Do others noticed the same thing?

    Thank you
     
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,359
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If I could notice an SSD thrashing, I'd tell you ... :D.
     
  22. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    California
    There shouldn't be. The only thing it should do is a Privacy Clean (controlled in Forensics section) every 4 hours. You can control what it is doing on that screen.
     
  23. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    No, the cause isn't Privacy Clean because the hard disk thrashing occurs frequently and not at the same time of Privacy Clean, I also disabled Forensics but the thrashing is there anyway.
     
  24. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    I've checked now with Windows 10 Task Manager and the disk activity of PrivacySvc.exe went from 0 MB/s to 0,5 MB/s for that 4-5 seconds of hard disk thrashing; the same disk activity increase occurred when I clicked on the Exfiltration tab.
     
  25. Serphis

    Serphis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    To complete my previous post, the increased disk activity of PrivacySvc.exe occurs approximately every 10 minutes.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.