BlackFog Privacy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by liba, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    Ok New rules have been updated. You can either wait for 24 hours for them to download or you can manually fetch them in the upper right menu now. We are still researching the app analytics in more detail. the MS ones are definitely invasive so thats under the data collection heading. Others will follow as we get to them.
     
  2. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    584
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks. Just saw it updated on my phone.

    Now, I can see more blocks by BFP
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,999
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Re: The Android version.

    I've noticed Facebook blocking gets disabled on my phone from time to time. Anyone else notice this?

    Edit: Problem solved! I had to go into the Enterprise Console and enable Facebook Blocking there.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,999
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know if it is related but Google Play has been searching for updates for several minutes today. I often manually check as I have automatic updates disabled. I've tried both through the mobile network and my own home WiFi.

    Anyone else using the BFP Android app seeing this today?

    ... Still searching.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,999
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That issue resolved itself.

    I'm really loving having BFP on my Android phone. I hardly use it to access the 'net, but so far since install it has blocked:
    • Advertising = 281
    • Profiling = 318
    • Facebook = 64
     
  6. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    UK
    I like the clear UI and its effectiveness of ad and FB blocking on my phone and tablet. The only gripe I have with BF on my phone is that it won't autostart reliably.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,999
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm not having that problem here.

    The stats are now:
    • Advertising = 327
    • Profiling = 385
    • Facebook = 70
    My phone has been mainly idle since my last post. Amazing to me how much crap is being blocked while I'm not even using the phone.
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,583
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I am using AdGuard for Android. Would there be any conflicts with BFP?
     
  9. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    UK
    I'm using BFP and Adguard on both of my Android devices and on my win10PC without apparent conflicts.

    I'm more than happy with BFP on Android but less sure of its effectiveness in blocking ads on Win10. I've run a number of daily tests using one or the other progs plus days running them both together and AdGuard definitely identifies more ads and formats the resultant pages well. Stats from BFP show it seems to block fewer ads but more profiling events.

    I really must run a more scientific test over a few days and see if there is a clear winner.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,564
    Both AdGuard and BlackFog establish a VPN Connection to function, so how can they run together when Android only allows one at a time?
     
  11. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    Faircot: The auto start should work ok if you turn on certain options (depending on model). We noticed that certain models contain additional options at the app level. We wrote a knowledge article on this to assist. In testing we found 1 device that was not auto starting and it turned out that it had corrupt settings generally and a device reset fixed that.
     
  12. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Darren. This works on my Samsung tablet but not on my phone running Android 5.1 - there is no option to change Background data usage and Unrestricted Data Usage as mentioned in your KB article.
     
  13. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,259
    Location:
    USA
    Currently trying the Android version and liking it. Looking on your website it looks like $35 per year which is a bit steep for a mobile app. Is there going be separate pricing if someone just wants a mobile version?
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,999
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    On my 6.0.1 Android phone it is in Settings > Data Usage > Blackfog > at the bottom there is a check box to "Restrict background data". You want that unchecked.

    I've also gone to Settings > Battery > under "App power saving", I have disabled BF.

    I hope that is of some help but it may be different on your phone.
     
  15. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Krusty but the first setting was already unchecked and the second one doesn't exist on this phone. I'll try my tablet in the morning for these settings.
     
  16. X9X

    X9X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Europe
    It sucks that iOS version doesn't show stats like that, but i guess it's because apple restrictions or something :(

    Android phones get all the cool stuff :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2019
  17. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    Hi G1111 we are moving to a user based model on pricing now, so you get the Android edition and desktop editions as well. We are just rolling this out so its clearer on web site.
     
  18. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,259
    Location:
    USA
    Very sorry to hear that as I really only wanted the mobile version and would not want to pay for both.
     
  19. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    Yes unfortunately Apple does not allow any feedback for us to get the stats of what we actually did. Android allows us to apply everything system wide as well whereas Apple only allows this within Safari. We are hopeful that they will eventually allow some feedback.

    As to licensing we may announce another offering soon for just mobile.
     
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,160
    Wow did not realize this was out. Will try to give it a go as I have been meaning to test it out on my desktop. Cheers!
     
  21. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,259
    Location:
    USA
    Okay thanks. Will wait and see. I have 28 days on my trial period and hopefully will be able to purchase an Android only license.
     
  22. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    We will work something out on that pretty soon and align the iOS edition at the same time.
     
  23. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,810
    Location:
    Canada
    Can we opt out the auto renewal feature now?
    Tnanks
     
  24. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    184
    Location:
    California
    You should be able to already. I will check with the team on this.
     
  25. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,810
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Darren. If I can turn it off, I would be interested to try Blackfog:)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.