BlackFog Privacy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by liba, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Hi Paul, Install Mode turns off executable protection but not networking protection as we have found that doesn't really interfere most of the time. So it is possible that it can be getting in the way if you have an application that is using any exfiltration to sites that are protected. To disable that piece you can stop the Service by looking for "Privacy Service" and then just reactivate it after you are done. I guess we could add it to the Install mode.... however you are now the first person that has mentioned this, so I am not sure how common this scenario is.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    And just to report that my issue in #350 was not related to BFP ...
     
  4. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for reporting back Paul. And yes 3.6 is close. The IPv6 is in, we are now busy optimizing performance across the entire stack and we are adding a "watch mode" so you can see what's happening but not actually do the block for cases when you want to see what it might do in a live environment.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumb:
     
  6. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Please note we have now released BlackFog 3.6. The key features of this release include support for IPv6, Windows Store and Fake News Blocking, Improved the taskbar Icon persistence and Training mode for Enterprise customers. The complete ChangeLog follows:

    BlackFog 3.6.0
    • Added support for IPv6 blocking
    • Fixed error when restarting scheduled system tasks when cleaning
    • Prevent possible string overflows in GeoIP lookup
    • Ensure use of TLS 1.1 or later when using SSL
    • Fixed possible overflow when mapping coordinates
    • Improved Firefox history cleaning
    • Updated detection in Windows 1809 release
    • Added Turkish translation to application and installer
    • Adhere to Enterprise rules for muting local execution threats
    • Changed Audio muting default to OFF
    • Fixed persistence of taskbar icon on Windows 10
    • Added PID number when generating block notifications
    • Changed No DNS message to Suspicious Address to match network option
    • Added Fake News blocking
    • Added Windows Store blocking
    • Added Training mode to restrictions in Enterprise console
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks Darren. The upgrade went smooth on two machines. I had a little trouble activating on a clean install on my third machine initially, but I got there in the end.

    I like the new features and it seems to be working happily so far.

    Cheers!
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No, it's no BF. I don't know what it is but I can run a speed test on another machine on the same network and I can run a test when connected to my VPN on this machine, but otherwise it doesn't run on that site. I have successfully run speed tests at other sites though... weird!
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumb:. Will monitor the takbar icon persistence :).
     
  11. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    USSR
    Still no Android edition. How's that going? New ETA?
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Also still hoping this request eventually makes it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
  13. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Android is very close actually. News on this very soon. And yes we have the variable timer for the disable feature on the feature list so this will be the next major release. Most likely the 3.7 edition.
     
  14. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumb:
     
  15. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Just as an FYI to everyone we just released an internal Beta version of our Android edition, so we are very close indeed.

    Note that Google Play will not allow Ad Blocking in the store so it will be available as an APK on our web site when it is released and then a version without Ad Blocking on Google Play.
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,376
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Still problematic, here at least. Doesn't always show on restart.
     
  17. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    560
    Location:
    Far East
    @Darren Williams

    Just to check.

    Will the android version be like the desktop version with ALL features or a cut-down version with less features?

    Thanks
     
  18. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Android will be much closer to the Desktop edition than anything else on a mobile platform since they don't have the same sort of restrictions that Apple does. So for example it works across all applications, not just the web browser, just like on Windows and has the full range of protection (minus platform specific ones such as PowerShell protection). We are currently at Beta 5, so its quite far along already.

    Paul, we have noted that icon persistence report. Thanks Darren
     
  19. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Please note we release version 3.6.1 for Windows today. A few minor changes made and alignment with mobile editions.
    • Prevented possible overflow when showing a large number of blocks on map
    • Fixed export of IPv6 addresses in Excel export
    • Refactored Excel export for better formatting
    • Updated core libraries and optimized parsing
    • Updated application icon to match other platforms
    • Updated installer dialogs
    We are also close to final for Android. If anyone would like to test this please private message me.
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I clicked, "Check for updates", but toward the end of the installation a pop up said "Services failed to start". Now I no longer have BF installed. Have downloaded the installer and will try again. Norton warned on download that there wasn't enough information about the installer so may be the reason behind the failed install.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Manual install succeeded. I suggest uninstalling the old version before installing the new version. License details and settings are OK.
     
  22. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    California
    Yes AV vendors signature stuff will not pickup anything for a few days I suspect.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Uninstalled first on my other two machines and the installation went without problem, just FYI.

    Thanks for the update.
     
  24. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    560
    Location:
    Far East
    Can post some screen shots here?

    Thanks
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,338
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You mean the Android version?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.