BitReplica

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by treehouse786, Jun 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Auslogics Enters the File Backup Market with BitReplica

    review

    homepage
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    I just stumbled on this today, looks interesting.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thanks Treehouse. I have always liked Auslogics stuff.:thumb:
     
  4. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    i have always liked auslogics stuff too. fingers crossed they add full disk imaging to this program :D
     
  5. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I just installed and used BitReplica, love it. It does everything I want. I removed Cobian Backup and will use BitReplica from now on.

    Thanks again.:thumb:
     
  6. 2YsUR

    2YsUR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Posts:
    61
    I thought you were using Macrium Reflect?

    Edit: Are you only using the Free version of Macrium? The paid version will do file and folder backups.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  7. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I am using the FREE version of Macrium to backup C: I would get Macrium FULL version if it was cheaper. Bit too much for me.

    And then regularly I use BitReplica to backup my Program Files Folder which I moved out of C: to another partition.
     
  8. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    This product finally looks like the simple but efficient free tool i was looking for.I have never wanted to backup entire hdd.

    I shall try it today for my backup.
     
  9. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    You will like, I'm sure you will :) :thumb:
     
  10. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Auslogics BitReplica is indeed a nice piece of software.

    A bit of information though, for people wanting a ton of features....

    Here is what you may want to know before hand:

    1. There is no cloud or FTP support
    2. You can't encrypt or password protect your data
    3. You can't select specific files to backup...Only the folders that contain files.
    4. You can't backup to CD, DVD or Blu-Ray discs, only external disk drives.

    I like this because it's straightforward and to the point. But, I figured I would list it's downsides before anyone dives in.
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486

    Can you please email Auslogics with this list?

    Cheers!:thumb:
     
  12. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    info below taken from website;
     
  13. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thanks treehouse, sounds good. :thumb:
     
  14. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Tried backing up with BP today, but get this:

    6/9/2012 2:27:48 PM Error creating backup. TStdFileEnumerator.Create (C:\Users\Work\Documents\Repository\Development\Auslogics Backup\_Development\Sources\Library\uFileEnumerators.pas, line 1050)


    Any ideas? :blink:
     
  15. HarryAdney

    HarryAdney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I've just installed BitLogic and got this error too; any further movement on this? There's not much on t'internet about it

    Cheers.
     
  16. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    I've been using it for months with no such errors.
     
  17. HarryAdney

    HarryAdney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    I've had a response from BitLogic:

    "Thank you for your email.

    Unfortunately by now BitReplica fails to work with files shich have long file names/file paths, the maximum allowed size of the filename and file path is 260 symbols. This error should be fixed in the upcoming version of BitReplica.

    Thank you for your understanding."
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.