Bitdefender Total security = Total System Slowdown

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Malware fighter, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    After having on my new laptop for almost a month,I believe Bitdefender should rename Total security to Total System Slowdown(TSS). To be honest, first 2 weeks were rather fine, but after last week's TSS update my brand new laptop with SSD started to boot 1 min or longer - can you imagine that having SSD on board o_O It was even longer than my old stationary pc. Totaly uninstalled it and now running Qihu Internet security + Online armor - and I regained my fast laptop back !!!!
    Recommendation : avoid Bitdefender TSS at all costs.
    P.S. My heavy investment of 7.5 USD in Bitdefender TSS is written off :-( :D
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    What you need to realise is the antivirus software performs differently on different computers. While it was not light for you, I'm sure there are many users who do find it light.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
  3. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    I don't need to realise it - it's obvious. As obvious as such long boot time is not explained by any configuration since mine is plain vanila windows 8.1 no super programs installed etc.
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    You are missing the point entirely. Just because it is heavy for you, does not mean that it's heavy for everyone.

    I've found BitDefender to be heavy, many others find it very light. I've found Windows Defender to be heavy under Window 8 and Windows 7, but others find it to be light. I could go on, but the point is that how heavy or light an antivirus is will vary from computer to computer.
     
  5. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    One of my older pcs is a 3570k @ 4.6ghz, 16gb, Samsung 840 pro ssd and 2x 670ti, one of my daughter's uses it and it has BTS on it now for over a month. Zero slowdown.
     
  6. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    770
    Location:
    MICHIGAN,USA
    No problems here with BD,,PC is just as snappy as it always has, Light as a feather here.
     
  7. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    I bought it and and some things didn't work right like the Wallet filling in passwords and random computer crashing..:(
     
  8. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    If you already hadn't done so I suggest:
    Going into settings/ Antivirus/Vulnerability... and turning off Critical Windows Updates/ Regular Windows updates/ Application updates/ Notify me when a security event becomes available/ Enable SSL
    Then turn off Idle scan ( this is annoying it scans every time you're away from your computer) It will then say your not secure, however click on the socket and spanner icon and chose to disable the notification permanently

    These steps will drastically speed up your PC :D
     
  9. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    too bad I already uninstalled :)
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Good, good, good. I'm about to install this in less than 2 months. So these tips will come in handy. Any more please mention. I plan on disabling everything except the AV & FW. Maybe even the FW & go with OA Free.
     
  11. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    unfortunately it wont let you do that, I've already tried with outpost installed, and it insists I uninstall it :oops:
     
  12. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    it even insists to uninstall kingsoft pc doctor. But guess what - you can install it after bitdefender installation - I bet it would be the same with FW
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.