Bitdefender Safepay™ BETA

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by malexous, Jun 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    http://www.bitdefender.com/media/html/beta-safepay/
     
  2. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Any information on this being redundant if already running their other security software?
     
  3. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,093
    Location:
    Netherlands
    See the site, not redundant, but incompatible, known issues
    76MB installer for 32 bits o_O
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2013
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
  5. camarie

    camarie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    RO
    It *is* a browser inside, after all. A browser runtime is a large beast; not to mention the other things (malware scanner, for instance).
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    "Provides protection on unsecured Wi-Fi Hotspots"

    Can someone explain what they mean by this?
     
  7. camarie

    camarie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    RO
    If a WiFi connection is detected and is insecure, Safepay will create a VPN connection (if enabled in settings) to Bitdefender. (This feature is enabled for beta, but in release will be available in premium version).
    Then, when connecting to a website, it will check if the URL is a bank or not (using our cloud detection), and, if is a bank, a route will be created for each bank IP thru the VPN connection (for regular websites the connection will use the existing network connection). This is to avoid the regular browsing to use VPN, and use the VPN only for banking purposes.

    Cristian
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the details. I wondered if they were using a VPN which is definitely the right solution. It's great they're making it available in the beta.

    Edit: I installed Safepay in an XP VM. It works OK, but I'm not seeing a normal VPN setup. I'm also not seeing anything in Safepay's settings for this feature. When connecting to my bank site I only see the usual SSL. Can someone point to more documentation about how Safepay implements a VPN for bank sites?

    Edit 2: Alrighty, after a little RTFM I see that the VPN option is (appropriately) only active on an open wifi connection. I'll have to install on my laptop and take it over to the cafe :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
  9. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,085
    Screenshots please? :rolleyes:
     
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    There are some in "Test Orientation Guide for Beta Testers"...and some useful additional info
    -http://www.bitdefender.com/media/html/beta-safepay/Safepay_Test_Orientation_Guide_for_Beta_Testers.pdf
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,102
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, which is why is why the standalone version isn't compatible with other Bitdefender products.

    One practical problem I have with it is being unable to use LastPass. I have some very complex passwords for bank sites which I can't enter manually. I would have to change them to something I could actually type to use in the SafePay browser.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  14. camarie

    camarie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    RO
    Classic Line release will have Wallet included for password (and not only) management. We'll probably include it also in Safepay standalone - I am not sure when, though.

    Other password manager tools can be invoked - now there is switch to/from desktop, think as a some form of alt/tab between desktops - but we cannot allow running other programs in the secure desktop.
    Not for any other reason other than 99.99% of programs handle very badly multiple desktops (just to recall one example - virtual printer displaying a modal dialog in the default desktop when invoked from secure desktop; how to you click OK in other desktop? ...) and either do not work, crash, or blocks caller.

    Cristian

    PS I'm trying to enable Java now, and it suffers from the same problem; the plugin is instantiated by Safepay in one desktop, and they launch java.exe and jp2launcher.exe in the default desktop (result: they cannot communicate - obviously - and plugin stalls without being instantiated).
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Built in password management would be helpful, otherwise I would just change the necessary passwords to avoid having to cut and paste between desktops. It makes sense to stay in the secure desktop for best security. Regarding the wallet feature, when you say "classic line release" do you mean an update for the current Bitdefender AV/IS? Any idea when that will happen?
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I had the opportunity to test this today at a Starbucks, which has typical ATT open wifi. I had no problem connecting and browsing as usual, but when I started Safepay it got stuck at the "securing wireless connection" step. I let it try for twenty minutes - went back and forth between the secure desktop and regular desktop where I was able to keep using Firefox - but it never connected, never timed out or gave an error message, just sat there. I'm going to try again tomorrow at a different cafe - hopefully not being able to connect today was an anomaly.
     
  17. camarie

    camarie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    RO
    Yes, I meant current Av/IS/TS. AFAIK an update will be released around June 20, although I don't think it is the final release one (it is probably what will be sent to reviews) - but it comes close. Expect another period of stabilization/bugfixing which can take 2-3 weeks for final fixes, so my best quess it is what we'll release during July. I am not 100% positive since I am not fully committed to Safepay (I'm the lead dev for it) - Safepay will be released during July if no delays will occur for commercial purposes, that I cannot guarantee at this time.
     
  18. camarie

    camarie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    RO
    You can check after VPN dialing is starting by going back in default desktop and see in network connection if there is a Bitdefender ... (TM) VPN connection. Can you please tell me if is in a "pending" state (connecting usual) or simply dials, encounter an error, and stops? Also - if this is not too much.... - you can check in Windows event log (I think it will show up in System log AFAIK) the messages regarding connection. Most of the time when it doesn't work it stops somewhere in a 20-60 seconds (depending on how good is the network) and Safepay will display a Retry/Contact support in its interface. The fact it does not display this (or perhaps you missed it because is displaying for several seconds and then goes to Favorites?) makes me believe the connection is active but not completed... but is a long shot without knowing more.

    Regards,
    Cristian
     
  19. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I tried connecting again today at a different location and Safepay worked perfectly. The connection stage only took about 10 seconds and it does show in the Network and Sharing Center as a separate VPN.

    I think Safepay could be a good solution for folks who do all their sensitive work in a browser (banking, webmail, calendaring, etc). If you use separate email clients though (Outlook, Windows Live Mail) you have the problem of them not being included in the VPN tunnel. There is also the matter of browser password managers, such as LastPass. You don't want to be logging into them on the regular desktop through an unsecured connection. The hardened browser in Safepay is a real benefit, but it still seems necessary to use a separate VPN to cover all the other internet facing apps.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013
  20. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    FWIW I have Bitdefender AV 8 Plus on 30 day trial now on my i5 surfing notebook.

    When installed Safepay also installed as a separate short cut.

    Not sure I need/want this feature yet as I do OLB on a https site inside Sandboxie.

    What does this do for users like me?
     
  21. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,093
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Safe browser is a 'reverse sandbox', meaning the browser is protected from the rest of the system, while browsing in sandboxie the rest of your system is protected from the browser. On top of that it adds a VPN tunnel according to previous posters.
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, SafePay automatically senses when the system is connected on open wifi and sets up a VPN. That's really essential to protect login credentials, etc, from snooping over the wireless network. It also does a malware scan when it first starts, there are no plugins to exploit, and it runs alone in a "secure desktop".

    http://security.stackexchange.com/questions/3759/how-does-the-windows-secure-desktop-mode-work

    "A Secure Desktop is a desktop that is out of scope of other applications accessibility. The Log In desktop is a secure desktop (created by winlogon.exe), as is the UAC desktop. No other process can interact with the desktop, so therefore no other process can do things like activate a button, or read the contents of a textbox. This is why UAC is (in theory) useful."
     
  23. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Very interesting, thank you!

    On OLB I do it ONLY when on a wired Ethernet connection.


    What would happen IF I ran Safepay inside Sandboxie:D

    they seem to have the potential to nullify each other.o_O
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I don't believe it would work, but let us know what happens if you try :)
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Today I started Safepay after establishing a VPN connection on open wifi - I have a sub with Private Internet Access - and discovered that Safepay cannot detect that there is already an active VPN. It tries to establish it's own VPN and fails saying "hotspot protection could not be enabled, your connection is not secure". This isn't actually a problem, but it would be better if Safepay could properly detect that the wifi connection is already secured.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.