BitDefender Free update problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rdsu, Jul 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    I install this AV but I always received this message, since yesterday, when it try to update the definitions or when the AV try to make it automatically, after find updates and try to download them...

    Somebody that uses this AV has the same problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Etsnuffy

    Etsnuffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    Yes, I get that same error every once in awhile. It will update fine for me for a couple of weeks then for a day or to it won't and then a day or two later it is fine again. Despite the occasional update problem all else seems to work fine for me.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Okay :(
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    did the same thing to me also.
     
  5. RadicalEdward

    RadicalEdward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Ditto. Usually if you keep trying after a few times it will click and start to work.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This has been a problem of the last few weeks. Btw, I didn't know that you used that much security software, looking good. ;)

    Btw, does anyone know about a good Bitdefender Free review? I wonder how it stacks up against the other (free and commercial) solutions. :)
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi Rasheed187,

    This is a very good AV for backup, because doesn't have a active scanner, with a very good detection, incremental updates everyday, great GUI...

    A nice review about the BitDefender Free, here ;)

    You don't have an active AV on you computer!?

     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2004
  8. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Same for me for the Standard version :doubt:
    Lately it's been happening quite a lot.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No, I don't have realtime protection, would be too much of a resource hog, but if you follow the basic rules you won't need it I think. Btw, the review you gave me was a german site and Babelfish/Wordlingo won't help either. :(

    I would like to know how it compares to big names like KAV, Nod32 etc, but I did read somewhere that it uses the same engine as the pro version, so I wonder how good it really is.
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I recommend you to have an active AV always enable...

    You can see the link with the Wordlingo, but you to click in the middle of the text to the Wordlingo translate the rest of the text...

    See this website AV-Comparatives.

    I prefer the NOD32 or KAV... but the free version for a backup AV is excelent...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.