BitDefender-AV: Where does the blame lie?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AaLF, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    BitDefender-Av has been getting some nice write ups and reviews lately. So I downloaded the trial to 'give it a go'. Nice UI.

    The setup is a 7-8yr old PC 2GB RAM & XP. (adsl) The FW is my trusty LnS.

    The download/ install was painfully slow. Once installed my PC started to go slow. Especially the browser. I uninstalled / re-installed. Twice. No change. All ahead / Slow.

    Its a nice AV if only it could get up a head of steam, but all I found was an AV powered by a draught-horse.

    Could it be the PC & XP are too old for BitDefender? Has anyone else come across this?
     
  2. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It could be your PC!
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    My experience is Bitdefender is a resource hog.

    My laptop is a couple years old, but when I bought it it was a $1400 machine. 3Gbs RAM, NIVIDIA 9500GS 512Mb GDDR2 dedicated graphics card, 7200RPM 320Gb HD, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.5Ghz CPU with 6Mb L2 cache, etc.

    Even today its still as fast as can be and Bitdefender still makes it warm up last nights dinner.
     
  4. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Care to elaborate? Do you mean BitDefender is NOT built for older PCs (2 Core2 duo 2GB & XP)?

    This PC 'sings' with Avast or PandaCloud. The only other active programs are LnS & SBiE.
     
  5. Qlimax

    Qlimax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Romania
    BIS working just fine on my PC. 4 giggs of ram and quad core proc. Using right now 21 mb with itunes , messenger and one browser opened. So i think that depends on the system...
     
  6. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    If you disable the anti-phishing toolbar in Firefox it will speed browsing up enormously. They should roll back to BD 2011 and drop BD 2012 completely.
     
  7. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    You just need to configure it properly. Just like Duradel suggested, you should disable the anti-phishing thing, and it does improve a lot. I do the same with my F-Secure.

    Bitdefender is on top at the moment. I'm pretty much inclined towards it, even though I am not too keen on changing the companies just like that.

    Try for yourself and report back!
     
  8. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    It is a shame it has a large footprint, since among AV-Test and AV-Comparatives it always has top-notch protection.

    Has anyone tried Gonzales to see if it's lighter?
     
  9. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I turned off anti-phishing in FF and it seemed a bit better. But when I came to Wilders to share the news I couldn't get "POST REPLY" to open. Same happened on another forum.

    Once I uninstalled BD the forums responded and i could post. Any clues?
     
  10. Qlimax

    Qlimax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to repair bitdefender. Go to start -> all programs -> Bitdefender 2012 -> repair or remove -> choose repair. Hope this helps!
     
  11. makios

    makios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    No problem here with BD AV 2012, Running smooth on my desktop (default settings, not using FF, but Chrome)
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I would agree. With BitDefender, keep it simple. If I move up to the Suite or Total Care that is when I start to have problems. I use the AV with antiphishing disabled and it purrs like a kitten. You want the actual best at detecting,,,,,,,,,,
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    bitdefender is heavy......slows down pc.......
     
  14. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    what a relief. Finally able to post again. Just couldn't get a 'post-reply' page to open in Wilders Forum with BitDefender on guard. Odd. The other VB forum was OK. In the end I uninstalled again.
     
  15. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Trjam last I checked you were using Panda Cloud, then today I noticed you were using BitDefender, now you are back to NOD32?
     
  16. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    You are most probably doing something wrong. Post your PC Specifications here!
     
  17. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    C'mon Brandonn. Keep up. Your post is old hat. Jibberish. Tales of the ancients. His avvy is back to a 3-d panda.
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You should not have to disable stuff to get your Av to work.
     
  19. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    Same Here, Got the breath of the relief when i uninstalled BAV2012. And really i am not in the favor of disabling toolbars & other things, to get your antivirus work!!! I have seen it working very slow on Win7- Intel Core i3-2 Gb. I don't think everyone in the world is running Quad Cores~~. Me my self running P-IV 2.8 Ghz,1GB DDR1,80GB IDE ( i know it SUCKS) & my Eset working like a charm!!!:D
     
  20. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    On their forums BitDefender has been getting hammered by people asking them to fix performance issues.

    In my opinion performance is more important than detection because a decent user will have more than one layer of security for their computer which will stop most malware from being executed in any case.
     
  21. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Agreed. All AVs deliver with their AV work to an acceptable level. Even scanning is not a major issue as most scan when away from the PC.

    But things like web browsers choking - now that is something that's in your face as long your using the PC.
     
  22. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    Totally agree with you there. For me performance is the most important part for me, i even ditched "THE LIGHTEST ANTIVIRUS" vipre because of the performance issue- Windows running sluggish!!!
     
  23. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    He is known as the Great Houdini around the forums!:rolleyes:
     
  24. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    lol...i love this forum!!!!:argh:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.