Bitdefender Antivirus Plus V10

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Relemar, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Relemar

    Relemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I've been using this product alongside no other form of protection, it's doing a cracking job, it's really light on system resources, doesn't ask of opinions (firewall needs rules though) it's really good!

    Anyone else used this? It's flippin awesome!


    What do you think on BDAVP10 (hehe)
     
  2. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    I think you should take advantage of the fact that your BDAVP10 key allows you to upgrade to BIS2008. And as a bonus, upon pronunciation, it's easier on the jaw muscle :)
     
  3. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    I thought you had to have BD10 Internet Security suite to update to BDIS 2008 (i.e., doesn't BD10 AV+ only allow you to upgrade to BDAV 2008 and not the Internet Suite --- anyone actually upgrade AV+ to the newer version).
     
  4. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    BDAV 10 -> BD 2008 confirmed
    BDAV+ 10 -> BIS 2008 confirmed(I did it without problem)
    BDIS 10 -> BDTS 2008 ?

    Kin
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    BitDefender Internet Security V10 users are only upgraded to BD Internet Security 11. I used to think BD AV Plus users were getting a raw deal, now the tables have turned! :p
     
  6. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks Kinwolf.

    I did further checking on their web site and found that BD10 AV+ users are upgraded to BDIS 2008.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep you can use your bd10 AV+ licence for the new 2008 suite.

    enjoy.
     
  8. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the heads up.

    Just installed the 2008 IS on my wifes laptop. Seems good (had a Bit def V10 plus licence which worked a treat)

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  9. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    Same here, needed a good simple ISS for my duaghter to start Uni. Seems to be working well.
     
  10. Rdmart

    Rdmart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    TX
    For those interested you can purchase a (2 users, 2 years) license for for
    BitDefender AV Plus for 26.99 at a well known online site (not sure if it is appropriate to post the link but it begins with "N" ):oops: and upgrade to Bd Internet Security 2008. I am not a fan of Security Sutes but could not pass this up. :)

    Installed it on my Fathers computer and seems to ideal for him. I may get around to using it am not using it as I have licenses for Nod32 and Avira Premium.

    Hope someone finds this useful :)
    Ron
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    ok but there are some resellers on ebay, who you can get legit licences for av plus at a much cheaper rate than that.

    just make sure its a power seller, and nothing dodgy. :)
     
  12. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    How light does BD 2008 IS and/or Total Security run on your machine as compared to say NOD32 and/or Avira?

    I am considering trying IS or TS, but am concerned about how they might impact performance.

    Any help is appreciated.

    BB
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    performance is fine, give it a try.
     
  14. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks, I installed BD Total Security, and running without the http scanner, it is a bit lighter than NOD32 or Avira. I literally could not believe it. I have tested every security suite known to man on my laptop, and this is without question-the least resource hungry of all.
     
  15. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i personally dont like the total security, i find the dublicate file finder dangerous and a bit pointless, also i dont need backup.

    try the http scanner, its better to have it, and i notice no difference in browsing with it on.

    yes it is quite nice on usages, however... it does have a few 'software bugs' at the moment, which im sure they are working on.

    glad your enjoying it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.