Bitdefender Antivirus Plus question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Andrew B., May 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Andrew B.

    Andrew B. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    My question is about how heavily Bitdefender Antivirus Plus is on the system. Does it slow things down noticeable? How does it compare to others?
     
  2. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Not sure about Antivirus Plus, but I'm currently trialing Total Security 2013 on two Vista computers with 4 MB of Ram on each, and I can't notice *any* slowdown at all. Web browsing is incredibly fast. I would think that Antivirus Plus would likely be the same. But I guess everybody's system is different...
     
  3. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    It is pretty light and i don't notice a slowdown on my system.
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Light as a feather on one of my laptops (i7,8GB RAM); IME, runs as light as BullGuard and KIS, but not quite as light as Avast or WS in real time. And latest versions are stable.

    Check it out in a recent performance test over at av-comparatives; http://www.av-comparatives.org/performance-tests/

    Recommended as great detection and some great cheap deals about.
     
  5. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It's considerably heavy on the internet speed. Otherwise, it's not that bad.

    You can also check the "Performance Test" conducted by AV-C for further assistance.

    Right now, I am not using any AV on my system and I am loving the speed of my system.
     
  6. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    Yet when I put it on my Core i5 3570K, 8gb ram, SSD, the works, it slowed everything to a crawl. Something is seriously buggy with BD. If it works, it works. When it doesn't work? It REALLY doesn't work.
     
  7. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I honestly don't notice much difference in terms of "internet speed" or any slowdowns using Bitdefender versus any other AV that I've used in the past.

    I'm wondering if the firewall in the suite is what might be causing the slowdowns on some people's machines. o_O
     
  8. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    USA
    Just running Antivirus plus I can tell that the internet slowdown is there . So it is not the firewall--at leat not on my machine . RAM goes up as the time goes by . No idea why . And the worst part is it does not allow you to choose how to handle detected threats . Not a friendly software for me .
     
  9. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I wonder if the amount of RAM and hard drive space has anything to do with it. I'm running Bitdefender Antivirus Plus on a new machine with 1 TB of HDD and 6 GB of memory currently, and I don't notice any slowdowns. There are the occasional slowdowns that don't happen very frequently, and that seem to be more of a problem with the web site server than the AV software.

    Are you using Firefox, by any chance? I've notice that Firefox does this horribly (RAM increase over time)

    It takes action without user consent, but I believe you can choose how you want the threat to be handled (clean, quarantine, delete, etc.). And you can remove items from quarantine at any time.
     
  10. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    USA
    8 Gigs of RAM here . 750 GB drive . Windows 7 64 bit . This machine screams usually . CPU 3.2 overclocked to 3.8 . RAM speed , if you care , 1600 . I have no problems on this machine with most anything I decide to play with . Some have complained of the machine slowing . My machine did not slow but , clicking anything on the internet would give a very slight glitch before connecting . With any other software , I never had the issue . Also , testing download speed without it loaded would indicate a steady climb to say 6 mb . With BF loaded , it would show steady to about a 2 mb and quickly jump to 4.8 and be done . Weird . And I use IE9 . Not Firefox at all with BF .

    As for choices , I got none ! It either takes needed action ( it decides ) or you can quaratine . I got no options for anything else which is a huge drawback for me personally .
     
  11. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    Is Bitdefender antivirus plus compatible with Comodo firewall?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.