Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    20 samples? I'm talking about them scoring over 99% on the AV-Comparatives real-world test for (at least) the past 12 months.
     
  2. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    A new product update is available - version 1.0.16.1022

    Changelog:
    - Add "Full System Scan" entry in systray menu icon
    - Change "Full Scan" into "Full Sweep" in Auto Scan section
    - Refined Threat Control tab; Per-item actions are now displayed on mouse-over
    - Fixed Logs button issues
    - Fixed Explorer freeze at startup
    - Fixed Multiple entries in Threat Control for the same blocked process
    - Fixed Duplicate entry in Threat Control for an active infection
    - Auto Scan and On-Demand Scan improvements
    - Other fixes and internal improvements
     
  3. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    best free AV ever, imo
     
  4. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Nice! :thumb:

    Little request though, it seems like it takes a while for the GUI to open when you first try after logging in. It would be cool if that were improved.
     
  5. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    This product with these latest improvements is starting to flex some real muscle in the av freeware range now :D
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    Yeah, I just love the ads.... ;)
     
  7. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    For some reason I don't get those, just a little blank black pop-up every once in a while......Its tough, but I cope.
     
  8. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    I haven't had any ad today.
     
  9. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I did a full system scan for the heck of it, and 76 items were infected, but then it also says no infected items were found under the scan results. Which one is correct?
     
  10. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    ^^i think it is a bug/false alarm related to password protected archives which it obviously can not scan so i think it shows them as infected but nothing under scan results because they were not scanned.
     
  11. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    You could be right, but I didn't think I had many password protected archives. I'm sure it's nothing.
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    Could be browser cookies... it thinks those are evil too....
     
  13. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    possibly

    I know my system is clean.
     
  14. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Out of curiosity, what kind of improvements are made to the Auto Scan and On-Demand Scan?
     
  15. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Auto Scans are complex tasks, with Quick Sweep running almost daily and Deep Sweep - weekly

    For example, Quick Sweep iterate thru critical/sensible areas and scan those items without using any caches; a boot sector scan is also performed
    Deep Sweep is using some internal algoritms in the attempt to scan only the files accessed in the last sweep (to catch the "false negatives")
    Of course, Auto Scans are always using the "Empty Slots" technology, wich aims to determine zero impact in user experience, when these tasks are running..

    An On-Demand scan will trigger a Cleaning System Task if an infected file is founded
    Also, if it's launched over entire system (the new Full System Scan) or on a partition/disk, a boot sector scan and an anti-rootkit scan will be performed
     
  16. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    sounds great!

    Thank you for explaining the inner workings of it to me. :)
     
  17. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I hate to say this but the LOGS button isn't working right now. Was working fine all day yesterday.
     
  18. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    o_O o_O
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,630
    Wrong quote.
    =
     
  20. Iulika0069

    Iulika0069 AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    It's working now?
    Would you verify if you have 1.0.16.1022 version?

    It's likely that you had a crash after the update, and BDAVFree performed an automatic rollback/fallback to the previous 1.0.15.947 version..
     
  21. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I indeed am using the newest version. It started working again after I logged out of my user account and back on.
     
  22. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    With the latest version still no joy restoring items from quarantine...:argh:

    In the threat control window it is now much easier to to restore individual items, but it does not really work. After clicking "Restore" the entry changes to "Excluded", but the original file is not restored at all.

    Tested with a folder for EXEScript (a batch file compiler, absolutely harmless). There was no way to get the software functional after BDFree thought it was evil.

    If someone from the developper team is interested, I have uploaded the gzserve.log file here:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/nywnzx


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  23. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    My log button isn't working again.
     
  24. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Hehe, the bugs are back again. :doubt:
     
  25. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Mine are working.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.