Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Many thanks for clarification.
     
  2. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
  3. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    It's still buggy. I've gone back to ZoneAlarm® Free Antivirus + Firewall 2013 till

    Bitdefender Antivirus Free is debugged.
     
  4. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Location:
    Australia
    zip:
    I apologize for this OT, but I notice you keep coming back to ZoneAlarm® Free Antivirus + Firewall 2013 [after trying out others, such as PFW, BD which seem still buggy].

    May I quickly ask if this ZA combo would work well enough for the average joe like me, [ie, quiet, strong, simple]...or is there an improvement over this combo [like maybe Avast free + ZA free] that is still worth pursuing?

    -no offense meant, just curious about how satisfying this combo is in your experience.

    -cheers,
    feandur.
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,748
    Off topic:
    Yes, it works.

    AV=
    + : Kaspersky engine.

    http://www.av-test.org/no_cache/en/tests/test-reports/?tx_avtestreports_pi1%5Breport_no%5D=124529
    http://www.av-test.org/en/tests/home-user/windows-7/novdec-2012/

    - : Auto updates: once a day (manually: as much as you wish).

    ------------------
    How effective is ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus with Firewall 2013?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Oh I see. Please someone quantify.
     
  7. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    see my reply on previous page.
     
  8. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Germany
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @whitestar 999
    But are you sure about it?:doubt:

     
  10. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    can't be sure but it is a mainly cloud based AV & someone here said that unlike kaspersky which stores its definitions database in program data instead of program files bitdefender saves all data in program files folder only.going by this i said that initial update should be ~55mb.this is also consistent with what bitdefender rep Iulika0069 posted earlier(see top post on this page).
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Okay understood. :thumb:
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    It sounds like it would be easier if you could say a MB limit that its not allowed to exceed so the Dev can tell you that it may go over sometimes, or never will go over that limit.

    If it never goes over the limit then you're good to go basically :)
     
  13. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Any huge surpise that made so little impression that I missed it?

    Or . . .

    Should I re-read Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance again?

    o_O o_O o_O
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @SweX
    From I've understood the daily updates are very little and should be no problem. The initial update is gonna be a little stressing on my bandwidth. Whitestar has given an approximate of 50mb. Only if I could get the actual amount and confirmation about it.
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Guess this is the surprise https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=341309 It really give a free year lisence until 8th of january 2014
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Right, well then you'll need to wait until the Dev gives you the answer you're looking for I suppose :)
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    But the dev already said:
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,988
    The surprise is that you get to wait another 4 weeks or so for the quarantine exclusion options... :)
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    OK, though because I am from Holland (France, Netherlands and Iran are excluded from free version with UK Gui), this was the surprise a full functioning BitDefender for Nothing, Nada, Niente, Noppes, Niets https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=341309
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  20. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    It's really simple to bring back the UK language even though I'm in France ... But it's useless.
     
  21. searaider

    searaider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    61
    I've been using kis for about 3, 4 years but the my license expires in a month, i'm gonna give a try to bitdefender now.
     
  22. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I'm more than ready to give BDAV Free a try once it becomes compatible with CFW. I really don't want to uninstall CFW and go back to using Windows firewall.
     
  23. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    Bitdefender Antivirus Free is crapware - it was not working with comodo fw, when I tried it with private firewall it didn't either. So you can talk anything you like about high detection values -who cares when it doesn't work with decent firewalls. Back to avast.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  24. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,999
    A lot of people are happy with the standard Windows firewall, so won't have any such issues.
     
  25. Malware fighter

    Malware fighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    yeah and they are more than likely to be infected or already are.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.