Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. DrBenGolfing

    DrBenGolfing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Hometown of Van Cliburn
    I remember your post of Dec. 24. Yes, it did raise concerns then and now. Seems the Bitdefender Gonzales Team have abandoned this thread, perhaps manning the bucket brigade? I enjoyed BDAV free but postponing use until the all clear is signaled.
     
  2. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    There's a difference in saying the site has vulnerabilities and saying that it actually was a victim of a hack attack. Your last post, the one I questioned, made it seem like you were saying it had actually come under attack which is why I asked for a link.

    As to where the reps are for this thread, I'm assuming they are busy. Reps are responding in Bitdefenders own forums and, really, all the discussion was boiling down to here at Wilders is "Where is my quarantine" "When?". One look at BD's own forums and a few posts here would tell folks it was on its way, and you can only say it so many times. I'm using BD Free myself again for the moment, willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and see where things go.
     
  3. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    If many pages of a thread consisting of people arguing the same point over and over again, and other people arguing against said point with the same point over and over again bothers you, you're probably at the wrong forum :D
     
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,038
    Strange things happening lately..bitdefender website hacked,,combofix infected with sality.:eek:
    What the hell next.?
     
  5. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Did you read anything above? Lol. Nobody has shown that the website was hacked..it has vulnerabilities..and so does damn near every website in existence. No clue what Combofix is so I can't comment on that. Not much "strange" going on though, just another day on the modern internet. Hackers stay busy little bees and the lack of care either through skill or worrying about the bottom line by developers of software and websites gives plenty for these busy little bees to do.
     
  6. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    It does get to be a bit of a waste after a while.

    ~Off topic comment removed.~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2013
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,361
    Since as 7anon posted here Bitdefender Free will never have the option to be prompted for what action to take when a threat is detected, I will never use Bitdefender Free. Maybe I will install it on clients computers once they have added the quarantining instead of deleting of threats, since it gives very good protection. But, maybe I'll stick with installing Roboscan or Outpost Internet Security Free.

    I really like how the free versions of Roboscan, Outpost (the free version is a version behind the paid version) and Avast to name a few products have only slightly less functionality than the paid "Pro" versions.
     
  8. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    With BD free it isn't a question of maintaining full functionality and control. This AV is obviously not designed for the power user. It is for everyone else who has no idea of what to do when they see a prompt. Of course anyone may choose another free or paid AV at will, and there is always MSE to fall back on. Not every product meets the needs of every user and sometimes it is useful to think about why a product was done a certain way before complaining that it is not custom made for you.

    For me, a default action of quarantine and a white list possibility when I take something out of quarantine is enough. These are on the way, as stated in an other post.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
    Personally, I really hope they keep it simple, and in line with their project goals.. I am not a clueless user, but I like something that I can install and forget that gets the job done and doesn't bother me. I think it's great and with the upcoming mods, it will be unbeatable for many..
     
  10. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    The implosion of the universe. :D.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Couldn't agree more. :thumb:
     
  12. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I want to download this AV in the worst way, but what are the chances it will delete a false positive from now until they make changes to quarantine them instead?
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,959
    Can you recover from it if it does? If not, then maybe you better wait... :)
     
  14. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I'll probably wait until that's taken care of.

    Another question I have is, can Comodo Firewall be used alongside this AV?

    Or does it work best with Windows own built-in firewall?
     
  15. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    Anyone else having problems with BD Free sometimes showing up as "not activated" after computer has been hibernating?


    /J
     
  16. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Not sure if this happened to anyone else but after about 3 weeks of using the AV, the program had trouble with my email account and deactivated!

    Ice
     
  17. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes. This was the exact problem I had.

    Ice
     
  18. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    Been lurking around their forums without finding any mention of this, perhaps it is just our imagination playing with us. So, there, problem gone ;-).

    /J
     
  19. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    lol, I hope your right. Besides the Windows FW, this is the only thing I have running. Very light and has caught a few malware samples I had. (old ones)

    Ice
     
  20. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    443
    I posted this question somewhere and was told that Comodo Firewall would work with it. I haven't tried it however.
     
  21. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    good news

    I might give it a try when the quirks are fixed.
     
  22. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    This might be an odd question, but once I register will I only be able to use it on my account or will it go on other accounts too? Guest account for example. Protection for the whole computer no matter who gets on who's account.
     
  23. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Yes, it will protect all accounts on a computer.
     
  24. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Cool. Thanks Brandonn.
     
  25. cohbraz

    cohbraz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    United States
    Near the end of December, it sure had more than just a vulnerability. I logged in three separate times and saw a different user's information each of the three times.

    A day or two later the "My Products" section was taken offline for a week or two.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.