Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Hi All

    I have been conducting a series of Speed tests over this last month because of Broadband problems. When I look at my notes one thing stands out is the very large Ping levels - anything from 188.13 down to 47. I should add I am in the UK and used BT Wholesale Speed test for all results.

    When I saw post 3775 it set me thinking so @ 1346 hours UK time I did another speed check (AFTER DISABLING BD) and low and behold the Ping had come down to 25.25.

    Not had a result as low as this ever. Will keep checking and feed back.

    Terry
     
  2. porrkanon

    porrkanon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    anyone had a problem starting steam after the most recent update? this was while steam was attempting (and failing) to install an update. with bd free disabled the update installed and steam started as usual. dunno if ill still have to disable bd to start steam normally (now the update is installed), cant be arsed to check until next time i boot windows
     
  3. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    It did disable Windows Defender as it has been in the previous versions!
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    I do not experience any lag issues. Bare in mind I'm a gamer and I play a lot of FPS games online.
     
  6. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    I've never used webshield, try to disable it with registry hack. :)

    Anybody else with this problem? :(

    Now I have the mentioned problem on another computer while Bitdefender didn't disable Windows Defender on my computer. So I'm running 2 Antivirus with noticable slowdowns, so there is still something wrong with the installation/deactivation/update. o_O

    I guess it's time to try it again next year. :geek:
     
  7. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    568
    BD support improved a bit and they add and fix detections fast. But what I hate about them is they fix program bugs really slow and long even after reporting and them acknowledging it several times. Theyre also very generous. :D
     
  8. lboucher

    lboucher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    France
    Hello, same here. When I click on the security center, it says WD is active and BD inactive, meanwhile BD says my computer is protected.
     
  9. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    To fix this issue, I uninstalled BD, rebooted, ran the BD-uninstaller, rebooted, then installed BD-free again.
    Things went back to normal. WD is off, BD is active, no warning from security-center.
     
  10. lboucher

    lboucher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    France
    Thank you, I will try that.
     
  11. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    One week after update to 1.0.9.21. So far so good. No bugs to report.
     
  12. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    deicded to bin on win 10. 3 x services kept turning themselves off
     
  13. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    This evening update to version 1.0.9.25
     
  14. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,487
    Location:
    Sweden
    Anyone else got a nag in Bitdender Free to buy their PRO solution?
     
  15. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Did you go into BD free settings -> account info -> disable notification ads
    ??
     
  16. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Sometimes "disable" didn't work for me, however I haven't got any nags while using Bitdefender Free.

    Is it fixed in the latest version? Any changelog?
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    I haven't use Bitdefender again, so maybe someone else will have an answer.
     
  18. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition update to 1.0.9.31

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  19. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Who is able to answer my question? Where are the Bitdefender freaks? ;)
     
  20. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    524
    Location:
    USA
    I run Bitdefender free without issue on a casual entertainment center PC running Win 7 Pro. It is light and stays out of the way. It is all I need for that setup. I don't make frequent changes there and rarely download and install new programs, so context scanning is not a consideration. I occasionally run full system scans with BD Free and Malwarebytes, and always have a clean report. :thumb:
     
  21. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    BD free update to 1.0.9.38
     
  22. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Any changelog? Spokesman, can you please check context scanning? ;)
     
  23. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    No changelog, on one laptop i have BD free installed, is updating at this moment.
    What do you mean by context sc ? is this a right click on a folder ?
     
  24. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Yes, do you have some malware to test it? ;)
     
  25. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    Well I was testing it with PUPs, not actual malware. But they were files that were detected when I scanned them
     
Loading...