Bitdefender Antivirus Free - English GUI

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Christmas gift from Bitdefender, the Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition 1.0.13.859 now comes with English GUI.

    Pay attention when the setup starts.
    There's a window asking what language you want (RO or EN)
    .

    edit: because a lot of users have issues with the offline installer, direct download links has been removed.

    Web Installer
    -http://download.bitdefender.com/npd/free/Antivirus_Free_Edition.exe

    English User Guide (PDF)
    -http://ge.tt/api/1/files/1SHy36U/0/blob?download

    4.jpg

    2.jpg

    1.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Nice. I'll give it a try today. As far as i know this is a cloud only version right? At least the one in romanian language from the past was...
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Does it still automatically quarantine/delete malicious files, or does it allow the user to choose? I think I remember reading that it would automatically delete, but I'm not so sure.
     
  4. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Been waiting for this one like forever, good know they haven't abandoned their free products yet.
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yup, it's BitDefender alright. First it jammed the entire VM, now it's refusing to activate itself as it's failing to connect to server. What freakin else next...
    Virus Shield is ofcourse set to OFF and i can't enable the damn thing. What a massive fail...
     
  6. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    The GUI is in Romanian o_O
     

    Attached Files:

  7. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Do you have any info about their cloud infrastructure ?
    Does it only contains the Bitdefender's signs ?
    Or behavior analysis ?
    And also, does it use the usual Bitdefender heuristic engine ?
     
  8. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    RejZoR - I understand your frustration; results may vary so for me this version works fine on Windows 7.
     
  9. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    The GUI is in English as you can see from the screenshots I posted. Try to pay attention when the setup starts I think there's a window asking you what language you want (RO or EN)
     
  10. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Very nice from Bitdefender.
     
  11. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    The question is will they continue providing English GUI or just this once because it's Christmas.
     
  12. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    I can't select it, it's grayed out. :doubt:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Oh for crying out loud, now that i've used a clean VM, installed it using web installer and now it's updating for liek 15 minutes already and it's still in "Updating..." state. Facepalm.
     
  14. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    So now it has realtime scanner? Interesting... Does it also have behaviour blocker or that is only for the paid?
     
  15. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Free real time protection from Bitdefender? Wow:eek: :argh:

    Wish kaspersky would do the same.
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    After testing it briefly, it seems to delete most of the stuff but here and there it quarantines certain stuff without any specifically logical reason. I've tossed over 50 old samples at it just to see how it behaves and it deleted all but 2. EICAR and one trojan. Not sure why were these two quarantined. Makes you wonder what kind of logic they use to decide what gets deleted and what quarantined...

    Also Quarantine menu becomes visible once it quarantines at least 1 file. Otherwise it's not even listed in the GUI.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Woohoo, more good news. It seems that free version also includes behavior analysis. I just managed to trigger Active Virus Control alert.

    bd_avc.png

    If they'll just sort out all the small glitches, this will certainly be one of the toughest competitions in the FREE segment. And an excellent option for those who don't exactly like MSE (like me).
     
  18. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Wow
    does the free version have real time system scan?
    what are the differences between the Antivirus Free 2013 and Antivirus Plus 2013?
     
  19. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Does it cache sigs? Just curious if they are caching sigs like Panda Cloud does.
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
  21. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    So it's just an on demand scanner then.
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm not sure where did you get that part. I've been running it for the last half an hour and i can tell you it has the real-time protection. It even says that on the link above. You can't use behavior analysis without providing real-time protection anyway...
     
  23. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    I got that quote directly from the website
     
  24. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
  25. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    NOOO, there are 2 BD Free, the one CLOUD we are talkin' about here and a second very old Free that is what you find in the BD homesite, existing till 2008 and is only a ondemand scanner, no realtime detect.
    There was in the past (2009 I think) a free complete version for Portuguese and Brazilian people, with ondemand+realtime directly created by the Brazilian BD dealer but was realy bad, full of issues
     
Loading...