BitDefender 9 Std.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by CogitoErgoSum, Sep 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Has anyone in this forum used or has been using BitDefender 9 Std.? If so, what have been your experiences to date? What intrigues me about BD 9 are its HiVE and behavior analysis technology. Any advice, comments or opinions would be greatly appreciated on this matter.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
    :D
     
  2. Pollmaster

    Pollmaster Guest

    Not sure what is the difference really. Bitdefender 8 was already top notch using adaptive heuristics which adapt to whatever attacks it is exposed to , so no attack can work twice.

    Bitdefender 9 uses time travelling technology (HIVE) so that whenever some new malware is detected, they travel back in time, and put in the signatures in the database before the malware is written! That's what you call Proactive!

    I can't wait to see what KAV has to counter that/
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have been using BD 9 since it was available. However, I can't be of any help, as it just seems to do what it is supposed to do from my standpoint. I would not know if I had BD 8 or BD 9.

    Jerry
     
  4. gates

    gates Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    I have used bit defender 9 standard now one week time and i have liked it much. Bit Defender update its virus definitions almost every hour, so its defs are absolutely always up to date, and we can be also proud its heuristics.
    I can say that bd 8, and now 9 are best programs what i have ever have in my computer.

    I almost forgot... my first post :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2005
  5. Siro

    Siro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    92
    Is Bitdefender v 9 a resource hog or light on system resources...just wanted to ask.
     
  6. Sealord

    Sealord Guest

    It's not light. On a 3GHz Windows XP with plenty of RAM it runs fine. But I took the trial version off a 400Mhz Win98SE with 384MB - it was just choking.
     
  7. Siro

    Siro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    92
    Okay thanks for the update ive not used the latest version so i did not know.
     
  8. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I don't think BD is a resource hog at all. The on-demand scan can be CPU intense at default setting, you can change that in the setup. The resident scan doesn't seem to slow things down in the least bit.

    Light/Heavy is relative to one's system. On an older low resource system sacrifices need to be made in other areas not limited to the AV. On a modern high resource system the term "light", other than a conversation piece, has no meaning what so ever IMO.

    My PC is almost 2yrs old, there isn't an AV made that slows it down......

    It's better to try the AV's and see which best fits your system. :)
     
  9. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Does anyone know if this product will run on x64 XP?
     
  10. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Thanks to all the helpful souls who have chosen to share their two cents worth regarding BD 9 with me.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
    :D
     
  11. StU

    StU Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Germany
    I guess it will not run on x64 XP.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2005
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Thats odd. I know few people tried BD8 on x64 and it worked as far as i remember.
     
  13. StU

    StU Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Germany
    And it has its full functionality?
     
  14. pcaca

    pcaca Guest

  15. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389

    Thanks for the info link. I could not find any info on this before and that was quite helpful. I run Avast! Pro right now and am pretty happy with it but was considering BD 9 as an additional app.
     
  16. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I also use avast! and use BitDefender 8 free as a backup, BD has proven to me that avast! is doing a great job :)

    Why don't you try the free version 8 and let us know if it works on your 64bit ?
     
  17. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    I may just do that and see how it runs together. I have never ran 2 AVs a the same time on any system before. Do you have and CFG advice as you are also running Avast! as well? Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.