BitDefender 9 Standard

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Davidpr, Jun 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    Anyone using this and if so what are your opinions please? I am looking to go light on resources, removed Prevx 1 and using router with WFW, and BD seems to be ideal. And the license covers 2 PC's which is a bonus.

    Would really appreciate comments from users.

    Regards.

    David.
     
  2. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    BD9 is a good choice, however, since running light is an important issue, I would recommend Nod32 who runns even lighter regarding both CPU and Ram

    Regards, C.
     
  3. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    Based on my experience, BitDefender is not light and it's quite slow. If you want such scanner (high proactive detection rates and very fast) I think NOD32, AntiVir Classic (freeware) or AntiVir Premium are better choices, it's more faster and lighter than BitDefender.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Just keep the BD9. I have BD9 Standard and is running prety smooth, can't really notice any real difference compared to NOD32.
     
  5. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Has BD9 conflicted with any a/s or anything else...like BD8 did with SpywareGuard or SpybotS&Do_O
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    BitDefender 9 has apparent incompatibilty issues with a number of programs, particularly AntiSpyware.

    From BD9 read me text;

    Don't accept the default settings and you can make the RTM lighter by selecting program files rather than ALL files and you can also reduce the overhead in the General Settings Window.

    With these settings I have found BD 9 to be a very light primary scanner.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Curious...BD8 didn't have shield...wonder why it conflicted?
     
  8. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    What spyware does go with BD9...if this could be resolved, I would surely pick it over my present a/v...
     
  9. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I have a license for BD 9 Pro. I no longer use it. It is an excellent AV BUT support will insist that you remove SpyBot and Spyware Blaster. I mean insist to the point that NO support will be given if they detect those two applications on your computer. I removed BD instead. I am not about to give up my oldest and favorite anti-spyware applications because an AV can't get along with them! I now have KAV6 and it doesn't mind that I use Spybot and Spyware Blaster.
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    BitDefender 9 is a good product, it has good malware detection rates and is light enough. The program becomes a bit heavy mainly if archive scanning is enabled in the Real-Time Monitor. The licensing deals are good.

    SOFTWIN recommends to uninstall any other AntiSpyware program on your system before installing BitDefender.

    @Mele20: I didn't have quite the same experience as you did. BitDefender support was extremely friendly regarding such things. Although they told me to remove SpyBot and Spyware Blaster, they didn't say stuff like not offering support if I didn't remove them.

    Also, BitDefender did not tell me anything about removing applications like CCleaner and Anti-Trojan software and the like. Strange :doubt:

    I must, however, say that BD support automatically assumed I was having problems when I mentioned uninstalling Spybot, when in fact I was not having any noticeable problems (yet). :doubt:
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    LiveSupport stated to-day that you can run other AntiSpyware with BD as long as you run them on-demand, so there is now no conflicts between 2 on-access Monitors.

    You can then enable "Scan for Spyware" in the Shield settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    For me, they suggested to uninstall Spybot. They didn't say anything about Ad-Aware Free edition or other On-Demand scanners, but they specifically said to uninstall Spybot. :doubt:
     
  13. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I have not used SpyBot S&D for a long time. BUT I have found no problems when using CounterSpy, SpySweeper, PestPatrol or Trend Micro AntiSpyware as on-demand scanners with BD.
     
  14. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Why would BitDefender conflict with SpywareBlaster. It's not even a running process. o_O



    snowbound
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    As a matter of interest, if BD conflicts with my well-liked A-squared (which I run real-time), whose job is it to resolve that conflict? BD or A²? Or... none of the aboveo_O?
     
  16. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    I'd assume both vendors should work together to find a workable solution....
    Thats what we did when a product we made conflicted with another.
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Whichever company deems it to be in their best interest to do so. Usually that means whoever neeeds your money more and usually that's the smaller company.
     
  18. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I know. I asked Javacool in his forum here and he said he had no idea why BD feels Spyware Blaster can't be used with BD. I pointed out to support that Spyware Blaster is not a running process and that as far as Spybot goes that I did not use tea timer and thus Spybot was used only on demand. I was still told that if I wanted help that I had to remove the programs and submit PROOF to BD that I had done so. (I had an ongoing problem with BD and was receiving support when BD asked me to run Belarc Advisor and send them the results. That is how they saw that I have Spybot and Spyware Blaster).

    I think BD is an excellent scanner and I like the GUI too. I had NO problems with BD Pro ver 9 until the forced upgrade that gave me the spyware scanner which I didn't want and that upgrade was the beginning of my problems. I think BD just wants everyone to use only BD's spyware scanning and not anyone else's. I turned off BD's spyware scanning yet even then, and even with Spybot as on demand only, I was told to remove both it and Spyware Blaster...even if I wasn't using BD's new spyware scanner. It really turned me off.

    Javacool said he was open to working with BD to fix what ever conflict there is but BD apparently isn't interested. Spybot support just said "ho,hum...." nothing new. Don't use BD." Or something to that effect.
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I like BitDefender's Spyware scanner. At first glance, it seems quite nice, detecting cookies and all. My one complaint is that the On-Demand Scanner is a bit slow, compared to others like say NOD32.

    But now I can confirm that removing Spybot made BitDefender run faster on my PC. TeaTimer was *not* enabled. I have no idea why BD should run faster with Spybot uninstalled. :doubt:
     
  20. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    I've been using BD9 for several months now on one of my 98SE PC's. I read about some possible conflicts and decided to disable Spybots Teatimer, but still retain Spybot, i also have Spyware Blaster/Ad-Aware/a2/BOClean/CCleaner amongst other things installed. Out of these Only BOClean is also running fulltime with BD9.5.

    I can happily report that i have problems or issues etc with anything, and BD9 is now upgraded to BD9.5 via the updates. BD9.5 also includes Syware detection and removal along with the viruses/trojans etc, if you put a check in the correct box to include those definitions.

    I have scan ALL files enabled and suffer no apparent slowdowns etc on my PC.


    StevieO
     
  21. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    Many thanks for your comments. I have bought BD because it is a good AV and because I can use the license for 2 PC's all for £20.

    I have left Spywareblaster installed and so far have noissues on either machine.

    David.
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    It is a good AV.
    Let us know in time how it runs with other applications.

    Jerry
     
  23. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Hello 19monty64,

    You wanted to know what spyware products work with BD9? I have been using BD9 with PestPatrol V5 for almost two years without any problems at all.

    Also, like several other user's postings in this thread, I have never experienced any system slowdowns using BD9 with its "default" settings, even on some older laptops.

    Just my $02 worth,
    KDCDQ
     
  24. ronbo613

    ronbo613 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    North SD County, CA
    I've been using BD9 for about six months now and it's done a good job. I don't notice any slowing of my non-powerhouse internet cruising computer. It's caught a number of trojans and a couple email viruses.
    As far as conflicts with other software, I had Spybot, but after a few months without anything detected, I uninstalled it and have noticed no ill effects. I have SpywareBlaster and there have been no conflicts with BD9. CCleaner is a good program, the only issue it has with BD9 is that it will delete the BD log file. If you uncheck "Windows Log Files" in CCleaner, you shouldn't have any problems.
    I also use Adaware and the ZoneAlarm firewall and have had no issues with BD9 at all.
    Coming from Norton AV, BD9 has been a real improvement, and at $20, a real deal.
     
  25. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Just a caveat: According to EULA, 2nd puter must be primary user's portable mach.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.