Bitdefender 8 free unwanted files

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Iangh, Sep 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Bitdefender 8 free unwanted files (Answer enclosed)

    On the kids' machines, but not mine for whatever reason, doing an update results in two files being placed in the folder where the shortcut is: getfile and x_dtrace_log.

    I've tried uninstall, reboot, re-install but the files still appear.

    Anybody got any clues?

    Thanks
    Ian
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2005
  2. Beefcarver

    Beefcarver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    michigan
    I get the same thing on my Pc too??
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Anybody contacted support at BitDefender? I understand from posters here that they are very prompt.
     
  4. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Re: Bitdefender 8 free unwanted files (Answer enclosed)

    I've got the answer.

    On kids machine i had a shortcut in a desktop folder called 'maintenance'. folder where they go to run anti-virus etc.

    there is a shortcut in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu. I deleted the shortcut in the 'maintenance folder' and cut and pasted the BD shortcut from C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu to 'maintenance'.

    Works on both machines.

    Don't know why and am not clever enough to know.

    Ian
     
  5. patermann

    patermann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Bitdefender 8 free unwanted files (Answer enclosed)

    A "Start In" directory (folder) can be specified in the shortcut - maybe that was different in the two shortcuts? I think that, if you create a shortcut by right-clicking on the program and selecting "Create shortcut", the "Start in" directory is not set and so it will run in the folder where the shortcut is. Presumably the shortcut in the Start Menu was created by the install and will have the "Start in" directory set correctly.

    HTH

    patermann
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.