Bitdefender 2018

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by escalibur, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    I've uninstalled BD Total Security 2017 without any problems and clicked "Reboot".
    After a restart, my Windows 10 security - firewall - kicked in and I was not able to access any network or the Internet.
    I've shut down my Windows Firewall and downloaded Bitdefender Total Security 2018 from the BD Central web-site, by logging in and clicking on "Install Bitdefender".
    I would say the new BD 2018 has a slightly changed interface but...
    I forgot about the issues between Sandboxie and Bitdefender.
    I've put all Sandboxie's executive files as added rules for BD Firewall, but I was not able to start using Sandboxie.
    I've turned off Virus Shield but could not use Sandboxed browser anyway.
    I was getting a pop up message from Sandboxie.
    Next, I've put all those Sandboxie executive files into BD's "Advanced Threat Defense" whitelist.
    Now I'm not getting any Sandboxie's pop-up messages but I still cannot use sandboxed Firefox or Chrome.
    It starts and immediately terminates browser, but...
    I can use any other Sandboxed apps/software like Privazer, Ccleaner, Acrobat Reader, etc...

    Why did I decide to update BD so soon?

    With all BD 2018 services off, I'm able to use Sandboxie.
    BD-Off.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,712
    Everytime I try BD it just feels and seems heavy. Can't use it.
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I'm having trouble with Search Advisor not showing results in Firefox & Vivaldi, works in IE11. After a half dozen attempted fixes provided by BD support, no soap. So installed BD TrafficLight in both & so far so good.
     
  4. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    I've just used a program to compress photos, and BD 2018 blocked it.
    No problems, I've added that program to the whitelist of "Advanced Threat Defense", and...
    And nothing happened.
    Now, in order to use Sandboxie or any other app/program on my computer, I will need to turn that "Advanced Threat" off.
    Not good, BD.
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Too many bugs for its own good. Would never recommend this to an average user. Bullguard is better.
     
  6. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I'll second that.
     
  7. ufakai75

    ufakai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Posts:
    183
    Is there a 2018 free version? If not 2017 works fine on my machine.
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,945
    i trialed BullGuard IS for a few days and will ditch AVG for BG . A lot better lighter and has Parental Control . And avg is giving me a hard time with updating . it is not updating automatically
     
  9. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    USA
    I have found with 2018 installed, I cannot connect to Google through Firefox. Other browsers work. Not so with Firefox. I would have thought they would have been advanced enough to allow us to connect if we know the risks. No go for me. Never have I experienced something this bad with a product that is overwhelming liked and supported. What a waste of time for me
     
  10. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    Hi folks . . . . a question while I'm waiting on BD for an answer ('chat' didn't quite get it . . )

    Have BD Total Security 2018 installed. Uncertain of exact reason, but simply slower performance of late but I thought let's see . . . Anyway, at bootup today, popup from Windows Firewall prompting me to allow some fundmental startup programs or not. Problem is I've never had Windows Firewall engaged for over 20 years. Checking Windows Firewall, it indicates it is 'being managed by BD'

    BD tech support indicates BD works with Windows Firewall. That sounds odd, but they are going to check further with another level of tech support.

    Now, is that how other folks understand how it works? And if you installed the program, did it indeed enable Windows Firewall if you had WF 'off'.?

    Thanks for any on this, because if some odd issue at the get-go, I'm going to dump this software and go (hesitatingly) back to KIS that I've run for many, many years.
     
  11. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,210
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Sounds a bit strange - the stuff about getting a popup from Windows Firewall -- usually when you see Windows Firewall is 'being managed by BD' it means that Bit Defender's Firewall is protecting your PC.

    Did you check in Control Panel [Start>Search>Control Panel>Security and Maintenance>Windows Firewall] to see if Windows Firewall is in fact engaged.

    Don't care what BD told you about BD being OK alongside Windows Firewall, you should not be running two firewalls and BD should have disabled WF when it was installed. Sounds like BD Tech Support is giving a lame excuse for BD not working properly in not disabling WF. my 2 cents.
     
  12. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    432
    Yes, it does sound strange. I've been using BD Total Security 2018 for a couple of weeks without any problems. I did have some problems with KIS, though, which was the reason why I'm currently testing Bitdefender. I do hope tech support will soon be able to find a solution to your problem.
     
  13. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Ok I know what I read but I want to confirm. It's not a super slow startup but it's slower performance once everything is loaded?
     
  14. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    zapjb, uncertain if directed to me, but if so yeah . . . . slower performance of late. No question of it. Ever since the install, but that could be just coincidence as I have nothing really to go on . . .

    That said, this enabling (if that 'is' what it is . . . Windows Firewall being 'managed' . . . . . ) case another question to it.

    For those using BD, when you go to Control Panel . . . Windows Firewall, what exactly is it saying?
     
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Are you having slow boots also?
     
  16. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    No. Boots are fine.
     
  17. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    Here's an interesting thing . . . turn off BD Firewall and notice that both BD and Windows Firewall have been turned off.

    So they 'do' to some degree run in tandem when BD is active!?
     
  18. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    Fiddling about a bit . . .

    After turning off BD Firewall, Windows Firewall indicated as 'off' in Windows.

    After turning BD Firewall off, Windows popup giving me option of turning on Windows Firewall, BD Firewall or another firewall . . .
    . . . . . and, thinking I've nailed itm I selected to turn on only BD Firewall, but selecting this turns on both BD Firewall and Windows Firewall. This confirmed in Windows and BD.

    What a weird situation. And still no followup from the folks at BD . . . . .
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    And........?
     
  20. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    And . . . . I don't have a legit confirmation from BD that this is or isn't normal behaviour.
     
  21. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Did you try a repair install?
     
  22. Beans57

    Beans57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    North America
    Well honestly, with a new install of a trial for a new security software package, if I have to 'repair install' near the get-go, it is closer to being tossed than not.
     
  23. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    It's pretty simple. Start uninstall BD will ask if you want to repair install instead.
     
  24. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Germany
    BD is buggy on some systems... and a repair install is a no go for a trial of a security solution. It's time to change for a better product.
     
  25. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,942
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Thanks I learned something.
     
Loading...