BitDefender 2013 Final released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by thanhtai2009, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SnowFlakes

    SnowFlakes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    have you re-start the pc after uninstalled Bitdefender?
    then you'll get back the internet connection.
     
  2. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Yeah okay. Go look around other forums and you'll see many others having identical problems since installing Bitdefender. Their 2013 line feels like BETA software and IMO wasn't ready yet for retail/public release. Not sure why they rushed it out so quickly - but judging by all of the problems, it's not surprising. Granted their tech support is excellent....but when you have to contact them three times over a 2-day span after installing their product - that raises some red flags right there.

    Say what you want about Symantec/Norton but when it comes to complete Internet Security suites....they are second to none. I've tried Eset, Kaspersky and most recently Bitdefender.....and all of them fall WAY short of Norton.

    No more messing around with "2nd tier" AV/Internet Security softwares from now on for me. I was foolish thinking that the grass might be greener on the other side. Sticking with Symantec from here on out. Simply the best. Period.
     
  3. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    For those who are having this problem I found a link with an uninstall tool which seemed to allow me to uninstall BD 2013 completely without any issues even after rebooting the computer.

    Christian mentioned they developed a new uninstall tool specifically for BD 2013.

    http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=35804

    I ran the uninstall exe directly (didn't touch the control panel) and my internet connection was still there after the uninstall. Windows picked up that there was no firewall/antivirus or anti-spyware on the computer shortly after. I even tried installing Kaspersky back on and my internet was running fine. I've gone back to BD now and will keep using it until it gives me any more problems.
     
  4. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I'm definitely not going to give it another shot. It has let me down twice in the past now. I have now lost my confidence.

    If there's any other vendor other than Kaspersky, which I might consider again is, F-Secure.
     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    So,can i have your license please?:D :D :D
     
  6. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    their beta program was (is?) broken. they provide prizes to users at the close of the beta to encourage people to report issues, but it instead causes people to scrape bug reports others have posted and regurgitate them to the point that it can easily drown out legitimate issues other testers run into. the 2012 beta was a giant CF of meaningless feedback and whiny feature requests. i'm guessing the 2013 beta was more of the same.
     
  7. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    I am currently trying out the suite and i usually update definitions once a day.I did a update right now and it weighed around 16mb...

    which is quite a lot, considering norton/kaspersky take around 2-3 mb atmost...so is it normal?
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    BD is a heavyweight.:D
    So does any other AV. under 2 mb is normal. Bitdefender is just overrated imo.
     
  9. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It's the best in terms of security it provides. However, it has usability issues. I encountered problems with its 2013 version. It was acting weirdly. If they fix their issues efficiently, it's a great bet against security threats.
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Absolutely no doubt.
    But I do not consider a product purely based on it's security protection. It's usability and performance also scores for me. I wouldn't ride a powerful, high speed racing car if it's very hard to control and very complex to drive.
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    lol +1 :thumb:
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    How is comodo "crappy Protection" please explain your statement and i ask with earnest.!!!
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    What on earth justifies such a huge download .?
    It doesnt have more than other suites.
    I would not use bitdefender for this reason only.
     
  14. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Oh, so well stated Amit :) I find it incredible that JUST the sigs of BD which weigh in at around 300MB+ fully updated is larger than many other fully installed AV solutions.

    My fully installed norton 360 is approx. 340MB installed including sigs and performs better than I expected without consuming my machine. Just my thoughts...

    Have a good day! :)
     
  15. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Just changed from Norton antivirus to Bitdefender and it aint Norton that runs lighter
     
  16. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    Bitdefender has a huge install Mininum requirement : "Available free hard disk space: 1.8 GB free space (at least 800 MB on the system drive)" as per bitdefender website o_O which is absolutely ridiculous and on top of that daily updates more than 5 mb at least.

    if they improve on that i can consider giving it a try again.
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Me too.
     
  18. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    That is crazy :thumbd:
     
  19. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    Switched to ZA free AV in the mean time, much better than downloading 16mb updates everyday....

    BD needs a weight-loss program, one thinks!
     
  20. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    BD has done away with the update progress bar. So now I don't even know if the update is frozen or it is still downloding. 1 hour gone and it is still downloading.
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    There is currently an excellent sale ($.01 after rebates) on Bitdefender Internet Security 2013 at Frys.com - look here:

    http://www.frys.com/product/7237433?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

    The license is 2 year 3 PC

    If you don't mind dealing with rebates, and being reimbursed with prepaid Visa cards, this is as good as it gets :thumb:
     
  22. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    maybe people didn't notice , but there have been some important changes in bitdefender through the product update, check the details here

    Code:
    http://forum.bitdefender.com/index.php?showtopic=35498&pid=156312&st=0&#entry156312
     
  23. Narxis

    Narxis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    477
    Wow!:eek: Lots of fixes.
     
  24. carat

    carat Guest

    Did they finally update the free version as well or is it still at version 9.0 from 1999? :D
     
  25. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,142
    seems like they do not really care about the free version at all . But they also have released a new version in Romanian language only
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.