BitDefender 10 Free Edition

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chubb, Aug 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  2. Thanasis159

    Thanasis159 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Good news... Great antivirus but again no real time protection... Pity.. Has anyone tried this? I would be interested to try this. Version 8 had the most annoying feature. Although i had set it not to load on system startup It had two processes running the whole time consuming about 25 mbs of ram...And if i disabled these two processes from msconfig it wouldn't run at all or update... Hope this is fixed now!
     
  3. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    If this is true, then that would be rather annoying. :mad: I might try the new version on a laptop with no AV program to see if that holds true.
     
  4. coldplay

    coldplay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    191
    does it have to be installed or something like "cureit" ?
     
  5. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Can someone check if this conflicts with KIS 7 (Someone who can get them out of trouble).. Because last time I checked KIS 6 and BD didn't get along.. But this has some stripped features and such..
     
  6. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    I'm going to test later. They will probably not like eachother though
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    We only have a sandbox (DefenseWall, GeSWall), behavioral blocker (A2's IDS, ThreatFire free) and a hardware firewall.

    Before I make an image backup (on our PC's) I always scan with Bitdefender free, so I am glad with a free scan only anti virus with a very good detection rate (see malware section there is a link to the CHIPS test of 2008 versions).

    Regards Kees
     
  8. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Does anyone know whether Bitdefender use their own AV engine or do they licence it from another vendor? And if so then which oneo_O?
     
  9. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If used with SSM, it's functionality would be enhanced (scan on execution), almost complete real time protection, or am i missing something?

    Anyway, last version i too found it annoying that it started with Windows. But if above is true, it could become interesting.

    BitDefender, afaik, uses its own engine.
     
  10. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    They develop their own AV engine.

    Kin
     
  11. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello coldplay

    You have to install it.

    Niels
     
  12. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    Has anyone found out if it has always running processes like version 8 did?
     
  13. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    I use the paid version 10. Here is a list of processes that are BitDefender related: bdmcon.exe,livesrv.exe,xcommsvr.exe,bdagent.exe,vsserv.exe,bdss.exe
     
  14. ola nordmann

    ola nordmann Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    This is from BD 10 Free edition :(

    I haven't had the time to experiment with it - maybe you can disable a service or two?
    1.png
     
  15. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    Am I imagining things? I loaded BD 10, clicked on the AV test file, and BD 10 - I guess - wouldn't let the file run.

    Dave
     
  16. Thanasis159

    Thanasis159 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    At least if you sum them up they make a total of less than 10mbs... In free v.8 there were 2 processes summing up to 25 mbs!!!
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I *think* the BDAgent service can be safely disabled. From what I see bdmcon is a bit "important" for the product so I really doubt you are going to be able to disable that without adverse consequences.
     
  18. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    BDAgent is only the user interface. Can be killed/reloaded without problem indeed.
     
  19. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    bdagent is used to start BitDefender in a multiple user environment. If you are the only user you can disable the service.
    If you kill bdmcon you will close the user interface.
     
  20. JimF

    JimF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Allentown, PA USA
    I operate WinXP in a limited user account, but also have an admin account. Would that be considered a "multiple user" account? Could I disable bdagent?
     
  21. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    BitDefender continues to be a resource hog!!!

    A lot of services and processes, when we see others AV's only with 2 or 3, and using much less RAM and CPU...
     
  22. dogma

    dogma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    138
    Yes, it is.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2007
  23. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    You can disable it. It's only needed when you wanted that the setting you have changed are also applied on the other user accounts.

    For me the cpu and memory usage is reasonable.
    I agree with you that BitDefender uses many processes and services.
     
  24. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    I downloaded and installed Bitdfender 10 free version. The only thing it did for me was cause BSOD's every time a certain .sys file would try to run. I am running XP SP2, and had no other security programs running at the time. After 3 consecutive BSOD's I uninstalled the program using Add/Remove in control panel, as the Bitdefender uninstaller also caused a BSOD when trying to remove it. Also, it did consume a lot of resources, especially for an AV that doesn't even have resident protection. I think one would be better off running a a different resident AV and then using other online AV scanners if you wanted a second opinion.
     
  25. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello KDNeese

    If you received a blue screen of death with the following message bdrsdrv.sys : driver unloaded without cancelling pending operation error. You can try this go to start,run,at the run dialog box type devmgmt.msc then go to view (monitor,screen) and select the option show hidden devices. Now press on the +-icon before the non-plug and play compatible drivers and look for BDRSDRV rightclick on it and choose for disabling. Then confirm for rebooting your pc. Be sure that the registry control option is enabled in BD to verify that open BD go to antispyware and check the option registry control.

    Niels
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.