bitdefender 10 beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by the extremist, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the extremist

    the extremist Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1
  2. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    BitDefender Internet Security 10 Beta kit will be available on May 15, 2006.
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yup, registered this morning. Can't wait to try it out and see if they implimented stuff that i recommended to them.
     
  4. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    Yup, I'm psyched too. Be interesting to see if they've made changes to the update process.
     
  5. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Could someone list what engines BitDefender uses in version 9 and also this version, beta 10.Also, any conflicts with other security software, e.g.- Spysweeper.Thanks!.
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Bit Defender is without a doubt one of the top AVs. I hope that they either get it good enough so that it takes care of trojans and such as good as KAV, and the same with spyware. If that is the case it will be a keeper. If not I hope it is more compatible with ATs and ASs than V9.

    Those incompatibilities caused me to ditch it.

    Jerry
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well judging by Jotti screens it does an excellent job. I hardly ever see it miss anything (same by throwing stuff i find at it). They've added rootkit detection and HTTP scanning in v10 too. Certanly very interesting. I wonder if they did anything about sluggish scanning reported by some ppl.
     
  8. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Anyone got any screen shots?:D
     
  9. David007

    David007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    actually i have never tested this software before, but i heard the resourcess was not so good in vers:9 and i think its weird that they did not mention something about Resourcess in this new vers:10?
     
  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    small block chevy?.
     
  11. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Prob not as bad as Nortons :D I used BD 9 Pro on a PII PC and never had any hickups so I'm sure it will work well with your AMD and P4 beasts.

    I loved BD and highly reccomend it but yet again I also use NOD32 and love that as well, probably one of the most lightest on resources.
     
  12. David007

    David007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    But maybe they worked to have less resourcess in this vers:10 ?
    does anyone know something about it? or emailed them and asked about Resourcess?
     
  13. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    registered now... They have no NOD32 listed on: "Which Internet Protection software are u using now? " :(

    Hope the new BD 10 will be an important improvement. Nice to hear they have HTTP scanning.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    HTTP scanning? thats good enough; ill test too.
     
  15. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    I'll try it, but BitDefender is always so slow for my machine, both on-demand and on-access scanning, hope HTTP scanner will not make it even tooo slow for me. :rolleyes:
     
  16. David007

    David007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    someone correct me if i am wrong. the http-scan can not slow down your machine, it can only slow down while you surfing on Internet, Firefox or whatever you use!
    And the big question is about resourcess if they did something about it. anyone that has more information?
     
  17. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    I believe it can change of PC to PC...
    F-Secure is impossible in my computer. Slow down AND brake sometimes.
    BitDefender is very light.
    NOD32 very light too.
    Kaspersky slow down too but less than F-Secure for example...

    I don't understand it sometimes...
     
  18. David007

    David007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    well maybe bitdefender is not slowing down the machine so much, but its not so light eather.
    i hope they have fixed in this new beta a little lighter AV.
    and what does this mean "improvements to the proactive detection module"
    i thought that they are using hive and not proactive detection ?
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2006
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I wonder what changes they'll make to engine and interface.
    That damn BD9 restarting on every (hourly!) update was annoying like hell.
     
  20. David007

    David007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    i dont know if they changed about that,
    because i emailed them about this. But anyone has any idéa what this mean:
    what does this mean "improvements to the proactive detection module"
    I thought they using hive?
    and another thing i am curious at is resourcess?
     
  21. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    That is exactly what prompted my choice not to purchase the AV @ version 9.
     
  22. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    I think they mean improvement to the Hive, maybe to give it another name.
    That's the same question a mod at the <snip> posted. :rolleyes:
    I'm also curious about the resources and of course the improvements.
    Will give it a testrun on release. :cool:

    edited to remove link - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2006
  23. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    Bah, they just changed the date for the beta kit to May 16 now. Guess we gotta wait another day for the fun to begin. :(
     
  24. arthaszen

    arthaszen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    5 minutes guys, not a hole day :D ...we will upload it on the server and will go home to get some sleep ;) it have been a long day...

    have fun :)
     
  25. arthaszen

    arthaszen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    see you on the beta bug submission list ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.