Bit Defender automatic renewal is unethical

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chris Francis, Oct 13, 2014.

1. Chris Francis

Chris Francis Registered Member

Hi.
    I have been using Bit Defender for about 5 years without a problem. However, today they put through an automatic renewal, even though I have 247 days left on my current license. So, I called Avangate, who told me I needed to call BitDefender (who do NOT have a toll-free number). Then, when I talked to a rep at BitDefender, he said that getting a refund is a multi-step process and that the next step will be BitDefender sending me an email.

On June 7, 2013, I purchased a 2 year 3 PC license for BitDefender Total Security and paid $139.95 CAD. Then, on July 17, 2013 I paid $14.95 US. I think it was to extend my license for 3 PCs for another year.

This afternoon, I got a misleading email from Avangate Customer Service. (The email said I ordered the software, which I did not.) Here is the first paragraph from the email:

Dear Chris Francis,

Your online order placed on http://www.bitdefender.com on October 13, 2014 and processed by Avangate as the authorized vendor of Bitdefender products has been successfully completed (order number: 31643957). Please note that avangate*bitdefender.c will appear on your bank statement, instead of Bitdefender.

Bitdefender Total Security 2015 - ELECTRONIC DELIVERY DETAILS

Please find below the license registration/activation information for the product you have ordered, Bitdefender Total Security 2015 (up to 3 PCs , 1 year): ​

I'm planning to stop all usage of BitDefender and want others to be aware of their practices, so you can protect yourselves.
    Chris

2. SnowFlakes

SnowFlakes Registered Member

why don't you contact their Live-Chat Support ?
    There you can chat directly with the Bitdefender's support Online.

3. Chris Francis

Chris Francis Registered Member