Bit curious about Kerio

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by SwordOfSecurity, Jan 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SwordOfSecurity

    SwordOfSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Canada
    well i've heard of kerio and its popularity etc. so i'm just wondering how about how much memory the kerio free (latest version [4.213 i think]) uses. i already know it is one of the heavier firewalls out there, but it has gotten my interest and i just want to know some basic system spec details. also, does anybody know if it impacts internet speed at all? (like quite a bit, barely, a lot, etc.)
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Last time I tried it (4.2.2 but I think we can assume 4.2.3 is identical except for the name), it used about 26-28mb ram here and yes, it did seem to slow down browsing a little with the web filtering enabled.
     
  3. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    No slow down at all for me . But , as you can see , Kerodo DID have that problem ....So , what should you take away from that ? Install it and try it . That way , you can answer the questions about what it does on YOUR system . If you do not like it , uninstall it .
    That should help
     
  4. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    There's no slow-down for me either, compared with several other firewalls such as Jetico, Sygate and FilSecLab to name 3 of the others I've tried. Memory usage here as I type is around 17Mb.

    As Hollywoodpc says, just install it and see how it works with your system. It seems to uninstall pretty cleanly, so you won't break the computer by trying it out.
     
  5. q1aqza

    q1aqza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Same for me. No slow down noticed.
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yep, agreed, there is no substitute for trying it yourself. That's the only way you'll really find out..
     
  7. Plop

    Plop Guest

    How about de tiny Firewall?? The name says tiny butt is that also thr truth??
     
  8. SwordOfSecurity

    SwordOfSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm i'm having problems trying to connect to game servers (such as cs, etc) with kerio...is there another way to get access to them without having to shut down kerio? i've already allowed the applications, yet those servers dont respond. however, other game servers work fine! i know this is a typical firewall-being-evil situation but i was wondering if theres a way to bypass it without shutting it down
     
  9. Rostek

    Rostek Guest

    ~25-30 MB, but when I loaded into it part of Snort rules it used ~50 MB :(
     
  10. Yorky35

    Yorky35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Tiny Firewall (TF 2005 Pro 6.5.126)

    39Mb memory useage.

    Remember, Tiny is far more than a firewall - it has sandbox features, IDS/IPS (SNORT import), spawn, file, registry, dll, OLE/Com protection etc. plus a very, very robust rule-based firewall.

    It is not easy to set-up though - so don't consider ti unless you wish to tinker for many hours.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.