BIOS Changes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by coodbe, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coodbe

    coodbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I had been getting intermittent Blue Screens of Death, "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down...." Stop code 0x00008086. I called Dell technical support and the tech. took control of my computer and made changes in several areas of the computer including the registry. Then she said she was going to updated the BIOS. Then it read "BIOS update successful and she rebooted.

    My question is should I do a complete backup of my computer or would a differential backup be sufficient?
     
  2. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    I'd do a complete backup of everything ; might not be necessary but , who knows? Err on the side of caution I always say.:D :D
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It never hurts to have another backup. ;-)
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If you want to capture the registry and any other non-BIOS changes you have to do another backup. A differential would do but why not start a new full backup which gives you a nice clean point to mark the Dell fixes.
     
  5. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Just so you understand: ATI does not backup BIOS. BIOS changes are not stored on the hard drive, so drive imaging software does not capture them.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Generally but not enetirely true. BIOS settings are stored in EEPROM on the motherboard. However, most BIOS editors allow you to save your BIOS settings to file, in which case the settings will be on disk and can be included in your backup.


     
  7. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    If the BIOS allows it, then a disk file can be created. The user will have to explicitly do that though, as without it no BIOS changes will be saved by ATI. I was concerned that the OP's message implied that he expected ATI to save his new BIOS settings.
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yep. You clarified and I embellished a little ;-)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.