Beta Updates error message

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by tosbsas, Jul 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Hey there

    the beta update is wierd - I did get an update without any problem yesterday afternoon, later and today the log shows:

    Time Module Event User
    23.07.2004 08:06:42 Update Error connecting to server u3.eset.com.
    23.07.2004 08:06:25 Update Error connecting to server u4.eset.com.
    22.07.2004 21:49:52 Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11001
    22.07.2004 21:49:52 Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure.)
    22.07.2004 21:49:51 Update Error connecting to server www.nod32.com.
    22.07.2004 21:49:32 Update Error connecting to server u1.eset.com.
    22.07.2004 21:49:13 Update Error connecting to server u2.eset.com.
    22.07.2004 21:48:55 Update Error connecting to server u3.eset.com.
    22.07.2004 21:48:38 Update Error connecting to server u4.eset.com.
    22.07.2004 14:55:42 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.819 (20040722).

    Anything wrong??

    I have Database build 4694

    Ruben
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    I have those entries in my log. It is normal to see those entries.
    When NOD pushes out an update, it should update fine. At least, it does here.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Guys,
    are you connected to the Internet permanently? If not, do you have the appropriate connection type selected in update setup?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas

    Marcos,

    dsl here.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    dsl here too
     
  7. webwude

    webwude Guest

    Maybe i just a little server overload atm ...

    i used to have those entries too, seems that the servers are very busy atm ;)

    ww
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Ron,
    do you mean you are connected to the Internet permanently? If so, isn't it possible there was a glitch at your ISP at that time?
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    I am connected continuously and there was definitly no glitch, cause other pages opened at the same time

    Ruben
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    Marcos.

    I am always connected. NOD does update when an update is available.

    I can also hit update and it will download if available.

    I am going through proxomitron too. Port 8080.
     
  11. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Marcos I am sorry - I checked the time 08:06 thatw as exactly when I connected to the Internet this morning, I turned off silent mode and NOD tells me I am up to date.

    Don't know what was happening last night but today it looks like this thread is a mistake :)-(
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas

    Those error entries look like they appear when I first boot up in the morning.
    I do turn my computer off when not in use.
    NOD updates just fine when an update is available.

    It may be due to my firewall.

    I get updates.
     
  13. guessed

    guessed Guest

    same symptoms here...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.