beta 6 blocks pcflank

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products Beta' started by grizz, May 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grizz

    grizz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    UK
    just tried pcflank to run some tests only to find it is now blocked by eset
    any reason ? something i missed maybe.
     
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    ZoneAlarm used to block PCflank but the runored reason was because ZA could not pass the tests.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,798
    Location:
    Texas
    What did the alert tell you?
     
  4. grizz

    grizz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    UK
    i get access denied with the message below

    Access to the web page was blocked by ESET Smart Security. The web page is on the list of websites with potentially dangerous content.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    The block is not related to v6 beta; all products block access to the site as it hosts malware detected by 37 AVs at VirusTotal.
     
  6. grizz

    grizz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    UK
    strange not had any problems using the site prior to installing 6 beta
     
  7. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I see that message also on my VM using Eset V6 Beta.
    It does not get blocked by Norton. Ma\y be using some of the links on the page may, but have not tested them.
     
  8. jitte

    jitte Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Posts:
    67
    I was under the impression PC Flank rigged the results of their port scans to show TCP ports 135, 137, 138, 139 as closed and were just a shill for Outpost Pro Firewall.

    That's the results I get there when scanning my router, but http://grc.com, http://nmap-online.com, and http://t1shopper.com/tools/port-scan/ all show them as stealthed or filtered. An nMap scan from my LAN shows them to be filtered too.

    I used to frequent the PC Flank forums when they were still open and Randy was the mod, but they've been shut down for ages and the Home Page not updated since 06-MAR-2001, and thought them being outed was the reason for it.
     
  9. grizz

    grizz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    UK
    i remember the same ports showing as closed when i did a test there once so i installed outpost as it suggested and it showed exactly the same :D
    it recommended i install outpost :rolleyes:
    thanks for the replies all, safe to say that site is not much use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.