Best way to upgrade from v3 to v4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Batus, Apr 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Batus

    Batus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Do I manually uninstall v. 3.0.642.0 first, then install v. 4.0424? Or does the v. 4 installer now automatically uninstall v. 3 before installing v. 4?

    I read a couple of posts in this forum which indicated problems with upgrading, so thought I would ask what the current procedure is. I'm aware of the detailed instructions here:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1240425625107

    I just want to make sure this is the current recommended method for upgrading so I don't make any new problems for myself.

    Thanks for any info
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    It is individually but I have done many upgrades from v3 to v4 with no problems . Upgrade with the option to keep the settings is possible (has been possible from quite a long time) .
     
  3. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    Upgraded last month without uninstalling first. No problems here
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    agree with HT, you should not have issues.:thumb:
     
  5. a_kerbouchard

    a_kerbouchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    I have only ran into problems when I have uninstalled.
     
  6. Batus

    Batus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    Thanks for the posts. I went ahead and just installed from the v. 4 installer. It uninstalled v. 3, installed v. 4 and told me to reboot. Worked fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.