Best way to upgrade from v3 to v4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Batus, Apr 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Batus

    Batus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Do I manually uninstall v. 3.0.642.0 first, then install v. 4.0424? Or does the v. 4 installer now automatically uninstall v. 3 before installing v. 4?

    I read a couple of posts in this forum which indicated problems with upgrading, so thought I would ask what the current procedure is. I'm aware of the detailed instructions here:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1240425625107

    I just want to make sure this is the current recommended method for upgrading so I don't make any new problems for myself.

    Thanks for any info
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    It is individually but I have done many upgrades from v3 to v4 with no problems . Upgrade with the option to keep the settings is possible (has been possible from quite a long time) .
     
  3. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    Upgraded last month without uninstalling first. No problems here
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    agree with HT, you should not have issues.:thumb:
     
  5. a_kerbouchard

    a_kerbouchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    I have only ran into problems when I have uninstalled.
     
  6. Batus

    Batus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Re: Best way to upgrade from v. 3 to v. 4

    Thanks for the posts. I went ahead and just installed from the v. 4 installer. It uninstalled v. 3, installed v. 4 and told me to reboot. Worked fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.