Best Way To Protect Your MBR?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DX2, Sep 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    What is the best way to protect your MBR? I've heard about that program nprotect. Any other suggestions?
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard protects writes to the MBR,I highly recommend it.
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,052
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    FYI... the AppGuard element that protects the MBR is the nProtect element.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Ah! I was not aware of that.Then may be Nprotect would suffice along with a clean image backup including the MBR just in case.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,052
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    DS, I consider a "clean image backup including the MBR" a requirement rather than a "just in case." :)

    The only problem with nProtect is the non-English translation. But, it only has two CHECKable functions... one being on/off and the other I think is automatic System Startup.

    I use it in conjunction with both Rollback-enabled systems and Shadow Defended systems... it appears to work well but I've not attached it with known rootkits, etc.
     
  6. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    I thought so as well - until it wasn't worth anything to me!

    Cruise
     
  7. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Hi, ShadowDefender will :thumb:
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Shadow Defender does do that with out a doubt.:thumb:
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Run as a Standard user and don't install rootkits. That's about all it takes :)
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    All good suggestions posted already but my preferred choice is DefenseWall + Shadow Defender.
    Nothing wrong with covering my butt with double the protection on the mbr. :D
     
  11. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    MBR Guard from BlueRidge is nProtect?
     
  12. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Either AppGuard or an athletic cup depending on the mbr you want to protect.:D
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's nice to have a backup of the MBR but it's not essential. If your MBR is completely wiped you can create a new one and within 2 to 3 minutes you can boot back into your OS with all data intact.
     
  14. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Ditto! :thumb:
     
  15. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    I personally use a little CLI program called MBRwizard to backup the MBR. I also backup more than just MBR, as I began to backup 0-103 sectors just in case type of thing, but that is not necessary if grub, etc., is not installed, I learned that from Brian :) I believe he mentioned grub places itself to sector 103, but I do not use grub. Typically, MBR full back up would be 0-63 or as some apps backup 1 - 63.

    If MBR goes corrupt, I can boot to DOS command prompt and use the app to restore whatever sectors I backed up. I also have a backup via IFL but not sure if it backs up the entire track 0 - 63.

    Another app to backup that appears to work well is MBRfix or also bootice.

    Just my thoughts, in addition to the other valuable comments.
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim,

    The TeraByte apps backup LBA-0 to LBA-127.
     
  17. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Oh, thank you Brian! :) Now that is covering it LOL

    Is this 'standard' or common with most imaging apps, or is this mainly Terabyte? I know many backup track 0 or 0-63 I believe.

    Appreciate the info my friend. Have a good night!

    Jim
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Jim,

    I don't know. I thought imaging apps only saved the first 63 sectors and I was surprised to find the TeraByte apps backed up more than just the 63 sectors of the First Track.
     
  19. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    USA
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    TomAZ,

    How does one restore the MBR using that app if the MBR has been wiped and you can't get into Windows? The web page doesn't mention how to restore.
     
  21. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    You can run this from a BartPE environment.
     
  22. mattbiernat

    mattbiernat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    U.S.
    why not just restore from image or use windows USB to repair boot sequence?
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    andyman35,

    Have you tried to do it? I tried it from a WinPE CD and a WinPE USB flash drive. As a test I'd already zeroed the MBR on HD0. MBR Backup 2.0 not only can't find HD0, it can't find the MBR backup of HD0 on the flash drive.

    So on my hardware the app is a failure from WinPE. It can't restore the backup.
     
  24. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Hi Brian

    Please can you clarify for my own knowledge:
    I was told that Performing a back-up image of drive C is also making a back-up of the MRB?
    and thus when the MRB is corrupted, restoring the "full" image of the C drive will also restore the MRB.
    Is it correct?

    Thanks
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    samy,

    I think most imaging apps do that. Ghost 2003 doesn't do it. I know the TeraByte apps backup the First Track (LBA-0 to LBA-62) whenever a partition image is created. Any partition image. C: drive, D: drive, etc. You can choose to restore the First Track if you desire. But by design, the partition table is not backed up.

    If you create an Entire Drive image with the TeraByte apps the First Track is restored automatically. You can't choose not to restore it if you restore the entire drive. The partition table is backed up and restored.

    But as I mentioned above, if your MBR is wiped amd you don't have a MBR backup you can create bootstrap code, a Disk Signature and undelete your partitions. All done in a few minutes and you are back to normal.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.