best spyware proggie

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by headquarter, Dec 9, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi Joe and welcome to the forum.

    Just for further info, if you look at this pic [I went to a couple of sites where I new I would get tracking cookies] you will see it tells you if they are cookies, etc.

    Simply choose "Fix the Problem" and then click on the "Recovery" button on left, and you will see they are in that window, then "Select All" and Delete.

    End of cookies. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JayK

    JayK Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    619
    I've read of a spyware that actually hijacks the google toolbar and replaces it with it's own search toolbar Is this new? Or can many spyware do this?
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,475
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi JayK,

    Are you referring to the vulnerability in the older versions of the Google Toolbar as described here: http://sec.greymagic.com/adv/gm001-mc/ or is this a new exploit?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. Joe

    Joe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Launceston, Tasmania. Australia
    Thanks Devil, but when I use recover there is no select all or delete button there. So I selected them all individually and then hit the Purge button, is that what you meant.

    Thanks
    Joe
     
  5. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi Joe:

    Set up your setting like my pic and you will get all the buttons when going to recovery


    edit: this option is under "Settings" then scroll the window to the bottom
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Then you will have it like my pic below.

    Cheers.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. sk

    sk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Posts:
    241
    Nice posts, Taz. Very nice. Are you currently doing anything with some of the new tools? (Like BHOs, ActiveX, or Hosts file?)

    sk
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    thanks sk

    not really, I do have a gander every now and then, and do a "report" just to see what's what. Mainly for any changes, etc. in BHO's [but that's covered by Browser Hijack Blaster anyway]

    Startup list, etc. very hand for a quick check. I like what Patrick's done/doing with this proggy. Brilliant.

    Also javacool's and DiamondCS programs, all absolutely the *best* support I have ever seen, literally.
     
  9. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Anyhow, it's hi-ho off to work I go .
    Won't be back :mad: for about 10 hours.

    So any more ? Joe, sk or someone in here will be only too pleased to answer for you mate.

    Cheers, TAS.
     
  10. sk

    sk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Posts:
    241
    Yup, we got it pretty much covered 24/7. :cool:
     
  11. snapdragin

    snapdragin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    this isn't where we only have to list one is it?

    Spybot Search & Destroy
    SpywareBlaster
    and IE-Spyad!

    i wouldn't go surfing without any of them! :)

    regards,

    snap
     
  12. Joe

    Joe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Launceston, Tasmania. Australia
    Thanks for all the help that you people have offered. I think that this must be one of the most helpful forum that I have been to and it is truly appreciated.

    No doubt I will be back
     
  13. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    No worries Joe.

    that's what makes the world go round.

    Everybody in here, at one time or another, had to learn from scratch and I know that knowledge gained is only as good as given.

    Any time you want to know something, just post. Maybe a new thread would be an option, as this one's getting pretty long.

    Cheers.

    PS: I finally got my shot [I am interested in photography] of a real Tasmanian Devil so I produced an avatar out of it. Pretty happy with it.
     
  14. sk

    sk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Posts:
    241
    WARNING: O/T: o_O It looks like a bear, Taz?

    sk
    :cool:
     
  15. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Nope:

    It's about the size of, say, your groundhog? or australian wombat.

    Pound for pound, it's the most ferocious/vicious animal around.

    It literally snarls/growls virtually all the time, ever seen any of those cartoons they used to make with bugs bunny and the tas devil.

    Extremely powerful jaws, [yeah, like a bear] and can eat anything, bones and all.

    edit: Sorry mods, but just showing sk it looks like a bear from neck up, but it's really not that big. Last time on this topic.
     

    Attached Files:

    • tas2.jpg
      tas2.jpg
      File size:
      34 KB
      Views:
      1,160
  16. sk

    sk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Posts:
    241
    NOTE: Please see new poll on Tassie's av so this thread can stay on topic. Thanks. :)
    sk
    BTW - Thanks, Tassie_Devil!
     
  17. Jkay2

    Jkay2 Guest

    Maybe it related. I dont know, but the exploit is rather old and most people would have autoupdated the toolbar (espically this indidivual who is a SEO specialist) this is a relatively recent case. I've never heard of a real case in the wild though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.