Best settings for Avidemux

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Ocky, May 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    In preferences I need to set Audio to Pro Logic and Audio Device to OSS otherwise there are a lot of 'no can do's'.
    Any tips/advice/recommendations ?
     
  2. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Are you on OSS for audio, usually its ALSA.
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    On Alsa. ... but OSS selection works best (no crashes) with Avidemux for me. No idea why.
    BTW. Your take; Openshot, Pitivi ( have tried, only good thing is it doesn't crash), or kdenlive (was great in Karmic once audio sorted). ?

    No, it's fine now. Was a question of container and format selection. So I switched to Alsa again.
    (From divx to avi with resizing and black border ...) (Budweiser King of Crabs DivX) :D

    Avidemux.png
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  4. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Actually I use Handbrake which works really good and gets updated via their PPA. For editor I rate Open Shot to be best of the batch in Linux now, make sure to get it from their PPA.
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Thank you, linuxforall. Got Openshot from PPA - very nice !
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  6. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Give Handbrake a try as well, get it from their PPA, very good for casual conversion.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.