Best PAID software - what would you recommend?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by burns, Dec 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. burns

    burns Guest

    I use dialup at the moment and I use the following free software:
    AVG
    Ewido
    Zone Alarm
    Spyware Blaster
    Spybot
    Ad-aware
    Spyware Guard
    Spy Sweeper
    Proxomitron
    Start Page Guard
    Task Manager
    Firefox

    I am now close to buying a broadband connection. I realise that I will now need extra protection and therefore I will have to spend some cash to get that.
    My question:
    What would you recommend to buy?
    What is essential first before going online with broadband?

    Thanks!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    A router. :) It provides NAT.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2005
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Imo you need a PF (Ghostwall) & a r*al AV (NOD32) & Process Guard. I use those 3. GW & PG are freeware. So it's NOD32 to buy.
     
  4. dog

    dog Guest

    Truthfully, you'd be fine with your current free setup. You could drop start page guard, as Spybot includes this protection, and SB 3.4 can store your current homepage/searchpage defaults, you could probably drop Spyware Guard too.

    If you wanted to add anything else ... I would consider/recommend the free hardening tools Notok lists on his site (WWDC, SafeXP, Harden-it and Secure-it). If you wanted to go beyond that I'd consider process control and script-protection ... SSM is still free ATM, and likewise so is Script Defender.

    But don't be in a rush to run out and spend cash, solid security can be achieved for free. If you'll feel more secure in doing so, try everything out, to see what you prefer and what works well on your system; there is a lot of great products available. :) If you're determined to spend a little cash, I'd start with adding a router as Ronjor suggested.

    HTH;

    Steve
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2005
  5. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    You might find out what modem you're getting with the broadband account, there's a good chance that it has a NAT built in..

    But otherwise, I fully agree with Dog :D :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.