Best outbound firewall for non-techie user?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by practicalguy, Jul 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. practicalguy

practicalguy Registered Member

Personally I had not run a firewall on my machine for a long time. I have the windows firewall, the firewall on my dsl router, and the firewall on my wireless gateway. I realize that leaves a risk of malware communicating out. I've been putting a site together for family members & friends to recommend the best free software.

I loaded Zone Alarm Free two weeks cause thats what I used way back in the day. I notice the free version prompts often. Now I work in the IT field so I can discern what to allow out and what not to, but I'd have to admit it can be confusing even to me. I can't recommend this to my mom, she would just get annoyed. I noticed they say in the non-free version they include a database of "known good programs" that cut way down on the prompts.

Is there a free version that includes this database or is pay-for the only option for less prompts with an outbound blocking firewall?

2. Fajo

Fajo Registered Member

Put it on Automatic insted of Interactive and 99% of the alerts will go away why still protecting the computer quite well. :cool:

3. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

You can try Online Armor free, but IMO your family should be fine with just the Windows Firewall.

Just focus on preventing malware rather than trying to catch it connecting out ;)

4. jrmhng

jrmhng Registered Member

Yea outbound protection is more of a toy for power users I think.

5. Fedorov999

Fedorov999 Registered Member

Online Armor wins on usability these days and is getting better and better all the time...

6. 3xist

3xist Guest

Comodo Firewall Pro 3 without Defense+ is a good option too.

7. Fajo

Fajo Registered Member