Best Firewall with Wsa

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by darts, Mar 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    I am using Wsa Complete , there is a Firewall in it but do i need a other Firewall with it so yes what is the best free one the or is it enough with the windows 7 firewall.
    I hope you people can help me.

    Greats,

    darts
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 to block all incoming and WSA for network monitoring and outbound control should be more then enough.
     
  3. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    It works perfectly with Outpost Pro here.
     
  4. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Agree, using the same. :thumb:
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    as others said it is enough with win7 ....besides you're already getting wsa good fw.......otherwise privatefirewall from privacyware.com is very good at running along with wsa and very solid fw......
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I agree Windows Firewall and WSA-E or WSA-C is enough! I use Look'n'Stop as I had that since 2005 and it works very well with WSA-E! So it's up to you what you would like to use! ;)

    TH
     
  7. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hey thank guys , i think i will stick too the windows firewall then.
    thanks for the help.

    Greats,

    darts
     
  8. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    I'm trying the Privatefirewall 7 but is the basic setting enough or do i need too change anything in the program settings?
    I hope for a answer back.

    Greats,

    darts
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    OA free works well with WSA essentials.
     
  10. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I can definitively say Privatefirewall 7 works very well with WSA complete on my Win7 64bit setup.Plenty of customization options too if you are tech saavy.A great alternative to using the Windows firewall along with WSA
     
  11. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    And how is it with the Comodo free Firewall then?
     
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Another opinion for the windows firewall, great combo for me ;) , besides I am already paying for the firewall in WRSA so why pay for two?
     
  13. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    104
    My choice on xp and vista is, wsa-basic and defensewall personal firewall, a great pair of giants. :)
     
  14. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I had no problems running the WSA and Comodo firewalls together and that was with Defense+ enabled and configured for Proactive Security.
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Personally, I just use the Windows firewall with WSA under a router. The last time I used a 3rd party firewall was probably 2004 and I haven't found a need for one since.
     
  16. SwedenXP

    SwedenXP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Someone might think this is a silly question - but I would like to know.

    What exactly does running windows firewall (xp) add to security besides running WSAE.

    Thanx in advance /SwedenXP
     
  17. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    The WSA firewall doesn't replace the Windows XP firewall. It supplements it by adding outbound application control. Inbound protection is still provided by the Windows XP firewall so you should leave it turned on.
     
  18. SwedenXP

    SwedenXP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Aha - so there is no inbound protection in WSAE...?
     
  19. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    That's my understanding. Webroot have built a firewall augmenter, not a replacement.
     
  20. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    104
  21. Der Alte

    Der Alte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Posts:
    104
    Swedenxp, Sorry for the missing w ...
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    There's no need for an additional inbound firewall on top of the Windows firewall with WSA's protection over it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.