Best detection rates: MKS or Nod32 2.5?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Pain of Salvation, May 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Which AV has better detection rates? Mks or the new NoD32 2.5?
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    There is no way to know this yet, they have never been tested properly together, maybe MKS will be included in the AV-Comparatives next time.
     
  3. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    ArcaVir will be most probably included next year.

    If someone from ArcaVir/MkS_Vir is reading this, please contact me ;) I have to ask you for a favour.
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    MKS/Arcavir is relatively new to the English market, so testing has been limited.

    It has only been tested once over at Virus Bulletin, but it has achieved the 85% on-demand detection of zoo malware needed over at av-comparatives. Therefore, as IBK has stated, it will be tested in the future at this testing site.

    In contrast, NOD32 has an unrivalled record over at Virus Bulletin and is classified as an Advanced scanner over at av-comparatives.

    But recently, both programs have been tested here.
     
  5. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    I took a look to ArcaVir now.
    ArcaVir does not detect all ITW samples (it misses e.g. W32/Rbot!683E).
    In order to be able to say how ArcaVir would perform in the retrospective test I need that someone from ArcaVir sends me ArcaVir with the version and updates as it was available the 6th February.
    Based on what I saw so far, I can say: NOD32 is much better than ArcaVir (regarding proactive detection and in general).

    EDIT: I found on my PC an old version that I can use :);
    the results are " :( " I expected much higher results for ArcaVir (yes, I have set the heuristic to the maximum). I will not comment it in details, I only say that if it would be included in the retrospective test of May, it would only reach the "Standard" level.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2005
  6. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Pain of Salvation, great band!!! :D
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    For sure ;) - but let's keep on topic, ok?

    regards,

    paul
     
  8. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Hehehehe....I now I now...
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Sure... ;)
     
  10. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks ;)

    regards,

    paul
     
  11. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I do not know what has happened with Arcavir, the Stormbyte forum, or Mariusz. Some folks liscences are expiring and they cannot renew their liscence and only get told that renewals will be available on the Stormbyte site soon.
    The forum is basically been abandoned by Stormbyte personel.
    I had two months remaining on my liscence but I uninstalled it and installed DrWeb this morning, something is going on but we get no explanation only broken promises.
    Too bad I really believe this AV has a lot of promise.
     
  12. gmichale

    gmichale Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Poland
    Well, I really cannot understand some particular situations like this one. I talked to Mariusz on Friday and he said that he processes all requests (questions, renewals etc.) without any delay. Maybe there are some communication problems? Everything is fine with ArcaVir, and I'm really concerned that sometimes things like that happen. I send the link to this post to Mariusz from Stormbyte. Give me some time to explain the problem ok?
     
  13. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I think one of the problems is, no one stated that the Stormbyte forum was going to be basically unattended, as I have now found some post around where some folks are getting responses from the Arcabit sight. I was use to getting responses from the forum or even here at Wilder's, if we needed to start using the Arcabit sight for primary support, it would have been nice to have had some notice.
    You have to admit though the communication of what is going on has not been very good for the last month plus.

    Best regards
     
  14. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Hey Honyak.

    Can you find the stormbyte forum?
    My bookmark takes me to Stormbyte Technologies,but it appears that the forum is gone.There is a Support Center and that's it.
     
  15. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I believe they removed it and are using support at the Stormbyte web site only now. The forum is history for now.
     
  16. gmichale

    gmichale Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Poland
    Please use the support form from the website now (StormByte website and ArcaBit website too). And, of course, WildersSecurity Forum :)
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    But what happened? o_O

    If you see Mariusz, do tell him that FC says hello, Mariusz is a nice guy :)

    No, I am not in contact with him!
     
  18. gmichale

    gmichale Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Poland
    Ok. I told Mariusz to contact you asap :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.