Best AV/ Internet Security Suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by goodgameral, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Baldrick

    Then forget about the phone home thing.But there is a reason why it doesn't get talked about much.And that is frankly, its AV isn't performing as well as some of the others.Which means, the others get recommended.Don't know how else to put it!.
     
  2. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    ya za iss is too expensive you might just want to purchase kaspersky security suite, or wait for the internet security. or even get bitdefender internet security.


    or if you dont want to waist to much $$ get avast free + kerio pro(14.99)+ spysweeper(24.99) is just like a internet secuirty suite
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2006
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    KIS made my pc crawl.. that's dissapointing..i was going to try it from TMI,,but i might just stick to TMI 2006 upgrade to that :doubt: Whats bitdefender internet security like cpu ? thanks md
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,529
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

    Bitdefender is pretty good CPU and memory wise. The realtime scanner didn't slow down my computer at all. The manual scan a pretty long though. On a final note, the Firewall was really awkward IMHO.
     
  5. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois

    How did 5 get on my system with the filename download of kis6*.msi ?

    Never dl'd 5 nor installed anything kaspersky except for the above filename.

    This is on a 1 wk old install of xp pro sp2. Pretty barebones setup program-wise so far.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Well i gave F-secure IS 2006 a pretty good testing and have come to the conclusion that it doesn't use a lot of actual comp resources but It boots very slow and even with custom settings exempting quite a bit of files to scan the on demand scan is extremely slow. You might have slightly different results but I have removed it and reinstalled NIS 2005 again.
     
  7. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Only you can answer that, but from using all the Kaspersky 6.0 beta's i can tell you that it doesn't use. ADS.:)
     
  8. q1aqza

    q1aqza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Which version are you using? I found Release candiate 1 almost unusable but the latest release candidate 5 is running sweet and very light.
     
  9. goodgameral

    goodgameral Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Well, I'm thinking of going to Kaspersky now, but also F-Secure and and McAfee look good...
    Should I just go by reviews by the unexperienced general users on newegg.com? :D

    or should i go by price, and resource hogging... :D

    BTW- NIS 2006 is not good. It waits till after the trojan infects ur comp to tell ya that its infected. Then you hve to do a lengthy scan where it won't always show up. (happened b4 at cousin's house just this weekend)

    Also, does anyone kno which is the most of a resource hog?
     
  10. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    Eset has announced that they will introduce Eset Security Suite (including new generation of NOD32 antivirus - version 3.0, anti-spyware, personal firewall and anti-spam control) on CeBIT.
     
  11. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    would u say trend suite or bitdefender?? why is firewall awkward? thanks MD
     
  12. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    As a suite I would choose Trend Micro, their suite is more complete and polished out.
     
  13. dread

    dread Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    I say mcafee. I get the mcafee internet security suite every year. I have been a mcafee man for a long time. Mcafee is one of the best antivirus programs you can get. What I love about the security suite is spamkiller. It checks hotmail accounts and works with other email clients besides oe or outlook. Not many antispam products out that will filter hotmail accounts plus work with other email clients besides oe or outlook. The ones I have seen that will filter hotmail accounts requires oe or outlook. Well you get it all with spamkiller, hotmail filtering without the requirements of having to use oe or outlook. I use thunderbird. The firewall is good. It fully allows the app when you tell it to let the app access the internet. Have seen other firewalls like zonealarm, norton and the trend firewall after you tell them to allow the app the app still has problems and is not fully allowed. My first experience with this happened with zonealarm. I was trying to run a ftp server and couldn't. Fount the reason why, it was zonealarm. I had to open port 21 on zonealarm for the server to work correctly even though I gave it server rights. Seen problems like that from all the programs I mentioned. Remote assistance is another problem program for them firewalls. Have seen other programs don't remember them all lol that had problems with the firewalls I mentioned. You do not have that problem with the mcafee firewall. If you tell the mcafee firewall to give it full access to the internet it actually gives full access and you have no problems. What I do not like in the mcafee internet security suite is the stupid privacy service. I do not install it and do not use it anymore. Cant beat top of the line av, one of the best antispam products and one of the best firewalls for 20-30 dollars after rebate lol.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Well I will have to eat my words here. I reinstalled F-Secure Internet Security Suite and found that it was another program I had Installed a while back and forgot about that was causing the slow startup and slow scan.. I deleted the other old program and now the F-Secure Internet Security Suite is just humming right along. It uses about 10% more resources than Kaspersky 5.0.390 but F-Secure has a lot more running so it actually is very light for a suite.

    curt
     
  15. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Well bigc, you sound a bit surprised and yes, F-secure Security Suite offers alot besides great protection evidenced by the latest tests results.In fact, it's system control even guards the registry which is why i think i've experienced lockups after installing Prevx 1 and Cyberhawk.Could you try installing some of these products to see if the results are the same.F-secure does alert,stop and give me the choice of block or allow any registry changes.Thanks.
     
  16. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Okay bigc, i love norton.Will you respond now!.
     
  17. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    McAfee AV is dangerous.
    When you do a scan, it silently deltets things (does not offer an option for user response). Folkes get burnt by false positives.

    A number of complaints can be found in the McAfee forums.


    By itself, I'd say this is a show stopper.

    I purchased McAfee recently, 0$ after rebates, to install on other than the main system on a multiboot PC. I do not use it for scans, for that I have NAV on the other systems on the PC.
     
  18. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, Howard...why don't you just go ahead and call IBK and the folks at AV-Comparatives fools while you're at it. :rolleyes: Boy, I've seen some pretty harsh comments before, but this one borders on slander! McAfee has received Advanced+ ratings from AV-Comparatives and other independent reviewers on a consistent basis over a long period of time now. It has NEVER "silently deleted anything" for me, and DOES offer an option for user response to what it finds during a scan.

    To say that you don't like it is one thing...but to call it "dangerous" seems more than a bit extreme....
     
  19. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    McAfee does have great detection, most of the problems related to them and Symantec are not detection related. While I personally don't like or recommend McAfee, I would not call them "dangerous" either.
     
  20. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Go read the McAfee forums and you will see recent examples of folkes having files silently deleted.

    I have posted similar comments in the McAfee forums and McAfee has not denied them.
     
  21. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    I'd be surprised if they even READ them :p

    McAfee's user forums are actually pretty bad - one of the worst for such a well-known and established product, IMHO. I believe the moderators are volunteers (unpaid, if I'm not mistaken), not associated with the company, and are just more experienced McAfee users. I've seen several questions and threads there that people have started where they didn't even receive a single reply or answer. I don't know that I would base McAfee's effectiveness as a product off of their user forum response (or lack there of), though....although I do agree that it doesn't help their overall company image or reputation very much at all.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2006
  22. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I neve rused McAfee forums until a few months ago.
    I believe that some of th moderators are McAfee employees.


    If you check, yo u will find examples of VS 10 screwing users by silently deleting files due to "automatic cleaning" in response to a false positive.
    In at least one case, a URL was posted with a link to something that VS 10 will silently delete even tho a false positive.

    NO AV software is immune from false positives and VS 10 is dangerous because it gives the user no option to specify what is done in that circumstance.

    I dislike Symantec, but NAV has had such options for years,
     
  23. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    I know it hurt for you to say that so I will respond :D . I did have to remove prevex1 to get f-secure to run smoothly. But I have already removed F-secure again and am now trying the new version of Kav5.0.522 I don't like the updater as well as in the latest version but it does work albeit a lot slower. But at least it is every hour.
     
  25. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    One more update, didn't like the new version of Kav5 so I reinstalled Nis 2005 again. I liiiiiiike it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.