Best AV/ Internet Security Suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by goodgameral, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590

    It was any KAV/KIS 6.0 beta. I've run both of these with First Defense and trust me if they were there I'd have known.

    One thing that might make them is if you use Icon's in explorer. I know it does leave something. Someone jump in correct if I am wrong.
     
  2. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    hmm hmm hmm. even all over my D drive, $KAVICH$ or something almost identical was in the string.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    If you ever had 5.0 they may be left overs. Somewhere on the KAV site(somebody might point you better) there is a KLstreamremover.exe You put that in your C:\ directory and run it from a cmd window. Bye bye ads.

    Pete
     
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    PC-Cillan caused my system to constantly "reboot". never in 4yrs have i had that problem i use 2005 suite now and love it..... however im interested in the KAV Suite 2006 coming..... when will it be out.? thanks MD

    btw Fsecure suite is like panda Python..lol
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    I know, it was the damnest thing I'd ever seen. The guys at the local repair shop were just as baffled as I was when I called them and told them what was causing the problem afterward. I even contacted Trend Micro's customer service, and they were very helpful in trying to resolve the issue. I submitted everything that they asked for via email after our phone conversation, but I never received a definitive reply what was causing it. I had downloaded the '05 ISS version from a CD purchased at a retailer, not from an on-line download, so there may have been some corrupt file or something on the CD version that I had....but whatever it was, it was freaky, that's for sure.

    I'm not claiming that this should be expected behaviour either....because the reason I tried it was because I had heard good things about it. I'm sure it works well for others, I was just relaying the personal experience that I had.....
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2006
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,206
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    BullGuard Internet Security (http://www.bullguard.com) is also a very good security suite. Its AV uses a full-featured BitDefender engine (HIVE also included) and the firewall is powered by Sygate Pro. AntiSpam seems to be done in-house however. You also get online backup from 1000MB to 3000MB.

    And best of all, one license of BullGuard covers 3 computers.
     
  7. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Then you have had 5.0 installed with default settings, 6.0 does not use ADS, it uses a central database, you can use Adsspy to remove them.:)
     
  8. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    bullguard is a question since it has some connection with kazza = spyware
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,171
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Hi,

    I ran out of curiosity the Merijn - ADSSpy, as I used to have a version of KAV 5.0. It found 16 entries with KAVICH and when I tried to remove them the program replied it couldn't as they might be locked by another program.

    What should I do? Just leave them or try to unlocked them? Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Yes, i remember you. :) I would just leave them because of the small number of them, when Kav is not active they are just non-active files like any other. You use Nod correct?, it is also capable of scanning ADS as far as i remember.
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    Correct ;)
     
  12. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I doubt you just have 16 Kavich files. That is just all ADSSPy found. It is not very good for finding these. You should run the KAV cleaner. But if you have an nVidia card then beware unless Kaspersky fixed the problem. Their cleaner ate my nVidia driver.

    As for which Suite is the best, you should try KAV and Bit Defender. KIS 2006 beta slowed my very powerful computer to a crawl. My internet speed was cut to ONE THIRD what is normal. Bit Defender has no effect on my computer or my internet speed. So, that is the one I went with. I would have gone with KIS but it doesn't work well on my computer and with my ISP. It is crazy to spend money on a fast internet connection only to have KIS take it away from you. But some don't mind and some are not nearly as badly affected as I was. So, you need to test them to decide which you want.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,171
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Hi Don,

    I suspected you have a formidable memory! I take your word for it and as I said I can't complain about anything so I won't worry about it.

    Mele20,

    thank you for your input but cleaners, like you said they may do more damage than good, so in my situation I'll give it a miss.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,924
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    started useing F-Secure Internet Security 2006 a few days ago and was really surprised at how light it actually runs. The scan speed on an on demand scan is not the fastest I have used but still acceptable. It does use four different scan engines, (see screen shot) so far it seems to be an improvement over earlier versions as to resource use. After another week or so I will have a better idea of how well it behaves. But so far so good. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    bigc

    Just curious about F-secure or shopping for a new AV?.Weren't you using Norton?.
     
  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,924
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I usually install and test about ten av's a month, this time it is F-Secure IS 2006;)
     
  17. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    Let us know whether this version is kinder on resources unlike previous efforts, as the last time i used it, after a few updates i had to remove it as it was so greedy.
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,924
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Will do, so far it is not useing much in the way of resources. But I will post any changes. The only thing I don't like about it is slow boot up but I can live with it so far.
     
  19. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    That was an issue I had at the time so no improvement there it seems, one other tip springs to mind, which is, try not too miss an update as it throws a cosmic fit. At least on my machine it did reducing everything to a snails pace until it was ready, worse than downloading a 285mb update using dial-up.
     
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,554
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi there

    I find it hard to understand why no one is recommending Zone Alarm Security Suite. Whilst it has had some problems early on the current incarnation is stable, or certainly as stable as any other of the key players producing complex suites of this nature. I have been running it for some 3 months now with absolutely no issues what so ever (having droppped NIS 2006 because of all the issues introduced by an update and not being resolved).

    I would therefore suggest that you try the 14 day trial and see how it goes. In terms of the previous comment about the upcoming Kaspersky Internet Suite as having "...new technologies that are being implemented in this new suite will blow everything else away" well I have read the new Technologies .PDF available on the Kaspersky IS Beta site and to be honest most of what they present has already been implemented in the current version of Zone Alarm Security Suite. I am not saying that ZASS is better....there are many suites out there and some work better than others for some people....but worth a look especially as yo can buy it cheap from Amazon and the yearly subscription (after the first year has run out) is amongst the lowest.

    Anyway, this is my opinion....for what it is worth.

    Good luck in your quest. Remember, try before you buy!



    Baldrick:D
     
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,730
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The two most important components of a suite are the AV and the firewall. Most people probably wish that the ZoneAlarm suites AV (Computer Associates) was stronger or more highly regarded and thats why they're looking elsewhere.
     
  22. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,554
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Hammer

    I think that most people may be mis-informed about the CA-sourced antivirus element of ZASS....I certainly was. If you check out the Virus Bulletin site you will find that they have consistently award the CA antivirus program their VB100% award showing that it is on a par with the other 'big hitters'. Using the version within ZASS you usually get daily signature updates and the scanning speed is pretty good.

    As I said before I was ignorant of how good this component is....but now I am not. Also, if you check some of the review, ie, PCMagazine, etc., you will also find them saying that the antivirus componenet is good/certainly up with the NAVs & McAfees of this world.

    Anyway, as I said.....try it an see, then make your choice.

    Regards



    Balderick
     
  23. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    From what i've heard, zonealarm does well with viruses but is getting killed by trojans.And i tried the pro firewall for a few days and found it buggy.Had to keep re-enabling a few things every time i connected to the web.Plus zonealarm denied for 2 months that its firewall was secretly phoning home.They finally said it had to be a "bug".
     
  24. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,554
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Did not want to start a polemic on this point. ZASS works great for me (no re-enabling require, rock steady, light on resource, etc.) and that is why I would recommend it to the originator of this thread.....at least as a trial.

    In terms of the "phone home" issue I think that it is a non existant issue as Zone Alram clearly advise that their Smart Defense Advisor function does this to allow ZASS users to benefit from the user community's collective wisdom.

    The problem with these sorts of threads is that they go off topic so quickly with 'championing' taking the place of fact.

    There are lots of good products out there and that is why I would suggest a trial of those that appear to match the basic requirements of the person looking to purchase.:rolleyes:
     
  25. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,973
    The ZA Suite is good, and I'd also suggest the BitDefender Suite as well. ZA having the stronger firewall and BD having the stronger AV. Both are good though. These 'suites' do use a hefty amount of ram typically, but that's the price you pay for all the coverage.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.