Beginner's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD with a TI Plugin

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by mustang, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi dld,

    Mustang stated that the xpsp2_en_x86.exe file should be copied to the root of C:. After that, drop into the Command Prompt, navigate to C:\ (CD C:\) and issue the command xpsp2_en_x86.exe -s:c:\BCD\cds\wxphome\files from there. I note from your screenshot that your xpsp2_en_x86.exe file is located in a C:\WinWP\xpsp2_en_x86.exe\ folder. Have you then also created a copy of the xpsp2_en_x86.exe file in the root of C:\ as suggested by Mustang?

    Regards
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Thanks to both Toms. I thought it was strange to be putting that exe file in a folder by the same name.:oops: Now I have a further problem. I think I'll just have to go every step of the Beginner's Guide and check everything. Just too many things to download and unzip.

    http://services.arnit.net/images_to_go/users2/ScreenShot0861240550321.jpg

    BTW, the i386 folder was copied from Windows on my desktop and not from a Dell OEM Reinstallation disk.

    OK, I've double checked all the steps in Beginner's Guide on How to Create a Win XP Installation CD from an I386 folder. I've pretty well posted all directories involved except the following:

    http://services.arnit.net/images_to_go/users2/ScreenShot0871259260321.jpg

    Am I still doing something wrong or is it the same bugaboo that I've always come up against in trying to slipstream a Dell OEM i386? There are files missing in that Dell OEM i386 folder.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2007
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,481
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    dld, I would start over from scratch. Follow the instructions very carefully. Recreate the BCD folder and extract everything again. Keep the bcd111.zip file, wnaspi32.dll, and wxp10.zip you downloaded and reuse them.
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I've printed the instructions and went over every step, unzipping each of the download zip files and agreeing to ovewrite the existing files. There is one folder I haven't posted:

    http://services.arnit.net/images_to_go/users2/ScreenShot0881354140321.jpg

    What I'll do is try Autostreamer that you recommended here.
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    You might also want to check out <nLight v1.3>. A very useful and comprehensive, free, Windows slipstreaming utility to have around.

    Regards
     
  6. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I just gave nLight a try. Firstly I tried to point it to the I386 folder I had created in the BCD folder. It did not accept this. I then had it point at my Dell OEM Reinstallation CD (the one without SP2). This it accepted and created a folder for it which I named Slipstream. It then asked for the SP2 file. I pointed it at the xpsp2_en_x86.exe file which it accepted. It sliptreamed this latter file with my Slipstream file. It looked like I had myself a Dell Reinstallation Disk c\w SP2. It was not to be. The disk I burned using Nero Ultra is not bootable. So I guess I'll give a try to Autostreamer, once I have a nap.

    Autostreamer doesn't even let me make a first step. Tried putting my Dell OEM Reinstallation disk in both drive G and drive F. Autostreamer does not seem to be accepting this disk as a valid WinXP disk (NEXT remains greyed out):

    http://services.arnit.net/images_to_go/users2/ScreenShot0891723560321.jpg

    Paul Thurrott's site describes a method similar to Mustang, although he has you copy all files in Dell Reinstallation disk, goes through the extraction of files from XP and SP2, but then has further steps including extracting a file from ISOBuster to make the disk bootable as well as instructions on how to burn the disk. These additional steps are irrelevant in the case of a Dell Reinstallation disk because after the third step one gets the error message:

    http://services.arnit.net/images_to_go/users2/ScreenShot0901814230321.jpg

    There might be a workaround this roadblock here, if you can figure it out.

    So the bottom line as far as I'm concerned is that a Dell OEM Reinstallation disk cannot be sliptreamed with SP2.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2007
  7. fasttrack2

    fasttrack2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hello I am new and I am trying to use BartPE with Acronis true image server 9.1.
    I run the file AutoHelp.cmd, then after some files copied it is asked :
    Adding the license from registrynto the INF:

    but I find th ekey in the registry?
    This step is not clear, the what I have to do?

    Acronis is True Image Server for Windows 9.1, trial version

    Thank
     
  8. justalice

    justalice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi ... Where did I go wrong ? I have the following under the C drive " C:\BCD\cds\wxppro\files\I386 " and " C:\xpsp2_en_x86.exe but once I try the cd in command , enter this xpsp2_en_x86.exe -s:c:\BCD\cds\wxppro\files nothing happen , I have a cd disk of windows xp sp 2 which I just copy and paste the context , Also I did the same with the I386 file from my retail xp pro disk
     
  9. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi fasttrack2,

    There is no serial number in the registry for the trial version. You shouldn't have to do anything. I think it should work. The TI plugin on the BartPE disk you make should only work for 30 days.
     
  10. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi justalice,

    Don't use this method as you already have a Windows installation CD. All you need to do is use AutoStreamer to sliptream SP2 into an existing Windows disk with SP1 or lower.
     
  11. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi dld,

    I don't have any experience with using Dell I386 folders or Dell Recovery CD's. Hopefully, someone with a Dell will tell you how to do it.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I no longer have a Dell i386 folder but I saw a report of someone with a Compaq desktop using his i386 folder to create a BartPE CD. His path was C:\WINDOWS\I386. For "Source" he chose C:\WINDOWS, not C:\WINDOWS\I386. ie choose the folder containing the i386 folder.
     
  13. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Newbie question: I want to format my existing C: drive from within BartPE before running TI 10 to restore a two partition image. I am restoring a Dell OEM drive with a single utility partition plus a single C: partition. I have both on the image. I have run TI10 and restored a single file from within the image, so I'm reasonably certain that much functions. I have a dirty MFT that I have been unsuccessful in getting repaired so far. My conclusion is that I need to format the drive before doing the restore.
    question 1) Is there something already on a vanilla BartPE that I can use to format a drive?
    question 2) If I do get the drive formatted, and then restore the image, will I end up with a "restored" bad MFT?
    I built the BartPE CD using the Beginners Guide and the only plugin I added was the Acronis TI Home 10 one. My image is on a local internal IDE drive, so I didn't add any network or SCSI drivers.
    Any suggestions are appreciated. I'm getting tired of skipping disk error scanning at boot time.
    I do have a licensed copy of PerfectDisk V8, but I don't know if that would help anyways. I also have a licensed copy of Partition Magic 8.0, if that would help. I think they are both overkill. All I want to do is to format the drive before I restore.
    Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this. If there is someplace better, please let me know.:'(
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    desertdad,

    You don't need to format prior to restoring an image as the formatted partition is deleted by TI immediately prior to the restore. Formatting does no harm but there is no benefit either.

    If the MFT is clean in your image then your restore will be fine.

    Do you have any bad sectors when you run chkdsk?

    Why not try an Offline defrag from PerfectDisk 8 prior to the decision to restore to see if it makes any difference to your errors?

    PD8 and PM8 are excellent applications.
     
  15. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Brian, thanks for the quick reply.
    I have tried the PD8 offline defrag. I saw a quick screen that said something like "defrag32.exe failed, (something) corrupted... Run chkdsk with /f /?" Sorry, the screen wasn't up very long.
    I ran what I think was chkdsk and asked to fix problems.
    Problem didn't go away.
    MS says to make a file level backup and skip the bad file..format the disk..and restore files. Difficult to do with an image backup...
    Odd behavior: chkdsk tries to run for a couple of boots and then quits complaining about the problem.
    If I try to look at the file (windows explorer, etc), the next time I boot, chkdsk complains again.
    I know where the file came from. It is a TI10 file level restore from a disk image, build 4900, build 4942 doesn't seem to have the problem. Now I'm stuck trying to get rid of the droppings.
    I have a virgin 160G drive I can use for a replacement C drive, but I really do have better things to do with that.
    PD 8 will do a single file defrag, but it just finishes and reports 0 "pieces" before and after the defrag.
    I looked at the plugin for PQ8, but it looked pretty complex for me to deal with (sorry).
    I really don't want to go through the process only to find I have restored a corrupted MFT (sigh).
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2007
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    desertdad,

    Open a Command Prompt and type chkdsk /r. Press Enter. Answer Yes to the questions. Restart and let it do its thing. After the computer has rebooted to WinXP, right click My Computer, Manage, Event Viewer, Application. Find the Winlogon created in the last few minutes. Double click the Winlogon line. Click the Copy icon, just below the two arrows on top right. Paste the info into your next post.

    Thanks.
     
  17. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Brian, When chkdsk was all done, and WinXP was coming up, I saw a blue screen with "the volume is clean..." and the boot kept going.
    Here is the text of the Event Viewer log entry:
    Event Type: Information
    Event Source: Winlogon
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 1001
    Date: 3/23/2007
    Time: 11:55:42 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: OFFICE
    Description:
    Checking file system on C:
    The type of the file system is NTFS.

    One of your disks needs to be checked for consistency. You
    may cancel the disk check, but it is strongly recommended
    that you continue.
    Windows will now check the disk.
    Cleaning up minor inconsistencies on the drive.
    Cleaning up 9 unused index entries from index $SII of file 0x9.
    Cleaning up 9 unused index entries from index $SDH of file 0x9.
    Cleaning up 9 unused security descriptors.
    CHKDSK is verifying Usn Journal...
    Usn Journal verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying file data (stage 4 of 5)...
    File data verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
    Free space verification is complete.

    117178109 KB total disk space.
    20111112 KB in 121961 files.
    40776 KB in 9602 indexes.
    0 KB in bad sectors.
    225085 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    96801136 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    29294527 total allocation units on disk.
    24200284 allocation units available on disk.

    Internal Info:
    70 36 02 00 f6 01 02 00 57 9e 02 00 00 00 00 00 p6......W.......
    bd 09 00 00 01 00 00 00 13 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
    84 b8 0d 06 00 00 00 00 72 b2 98 38 00 00 00 00 ........r..8....
    0e db cb 04 00 00 00 00 b6 3c e1 a4 04 00 00 00 .........<......
    4e 54 dc c0 06 00 00 00 c8 f3 6c b2 0b 00 00 00 NT........l.....
    99 9e 36 00 00 00 00 00 e0 3c 07 00 69 dc 01 00 ..6......<..i...
    00 00 00 00 00 20 7c cb 04 00 00 00 82 25 00 00 ..... |......%..

    Windows has finished checking your disk.
    Please wait while your computer restarts.


    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
     
  18. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    dld, Don't give up on building a BartPE CD from a Dell recovery CD. I just got through building one a few days ago. I used a Dell recovery CD that is about 4 years old and had SP1 on it. I downloaded the SP2 package as you did and slipstreamed it. I made a couple of newbie mistakes, but once I got to the actual BartPE build step, it went ok the first time. Make sure you are using the I386 folder from the Dell recovery CD, make sure you are putting the fixDellXP plugin in the right place, and run the AutoHelp.cmd as directed from within the build step. I have Roxio on my machine and did not have any problem with the Nero burn. I have used the BartPE cd to boot, start TI10 and do a file restore from a full disk image. Amazing stuff for somebody with my limited experience.:thumb:
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    desertdad,

    That looks good and Volume is Clean is good news too. Are you still getting errors with WinXP?
     
  20. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Brian, No Joy..When I tried to delete the troublesome directory (I actually tried deleting the Drive(C) directory), I got a error msg that I couldn't delete a file, that it was corrupt or unreadable.
    The file was restored using a TI10, build 4900 file level restore from a complete disk image using the Acronis Linux based recovery CD. I restored to a different location (came from c\download\Netstat Live\nsli.exe) and was restored to (c:\temp\drive(C)\download\Netstat Live\nsli.exe). If I look at the original file on my c drive, Windows explorer has a icon next to the file name. If I look at the restored file, Windows Explorer shows a default .exe icon. I have since done the same thing using build 4942 and the Acronis Linux CD as well as the new BartPE cd to do a file level restore. Both CD's restore a file that Windows Explorer likes and shows a icon next to the file name. I might have thought it was a fluke, but the same thing (or something like it) has happened with .PDF files with recent TI10 builds, and I have been successful with the process using TI10 build 4942. I suspect build 4940, but have no real evidence.
    Thanks for your patience. I will try to attach two small .jpg's which show the error msg and the restored directory structure.
    If the physical disk seems ok, can I imply that the MFT is probably the culprit and if so, are there products that will rebuild? a MFT, assuming I can run them from the BartPE boot? Any other ideas?
    delete nsli.jpg
    nsli directory.jpg
     
  21. desertdad

    desertdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Brian, thanks for your help tonight. I'm beat and am going to bed. I'll be back on tomorrow though. Thanks again.
    Dick
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,220
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    desertdad,

    If you made the backup image when WinXP was running normally then restoring the image will fix your problem. You don't need BartPE to restore an image, unless you have a problem with the Acronis CD.

    Before restoring the image why don't you boot to BartPE and delete those files that you can't delete from Windows. BartPE is very good for this. If you delete an essential file then you will get out of trouble by restoring the image. If the image contains file system errors then you are in big trouble.
     
  23. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi desertdad,

    I've read your posts about the corrupt file you can't delete. I'm sure your problem is discussed in great detail here, Read this entire thread very carefully. The problem is specific to restoring files from the Acronis Linux Recovery CD. If all your images contain the problem folder, restoring an image will not fix it. I duplicated this problem back when this thread came out. I was able to delete the problem folder using the Linux method described. I used a Knoppix Linux boot CD. I don't remember the details, but they are given in the thread. This is not an easy problem to fix so be careful. It's sad to see this problem has not been fixed even in TI10. It's just another reason to use BartPE instead of the Linux based Recovery CD to do file restores.

    Good luck.
     
  24. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,481
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
  25. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hi Tom,

    The Guide has been updated with this new link.

    Thanks very much for this info and all your help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.