BartPE Plugin Update for TI9?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Caranthir, Nov 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Hi,

    is there going to be an updated BartPE Plugin for TI9? I noticed that since the initial release of the plugin, it has obviously NEVER been updated even throughout the TI8 lifecycle. Why is that? Thanks.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I assume the plugin works properly. In view of the recent debacle with updates to TI why would you trust an updated plugin?
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I use the BartPE Plugin to recover my main drive from a USB HDD image. For this purpose the present version of the plugin is perfectly adequate. From my perspective this is the only reason to use the BartPE CD.

    I do not use the TI recovery CD in this circumstance as the Linux/USB drivers are, in the latest TI9 version, pathetically slow.

    Xpilot.
     
  4. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    This is newbie's query. I tried to restore using either TI rescue disk or BartPE Plugin. Both worked just fine but I do not see any difference between those two. With BartPE plugin, it took much onger to open up the screen. For me, I do not see any merits for using BartPE. There must be some reasons for using BartPE. Could someone explain the advantages of using BartPE-TI plugin over TI rescue disk for recovery? Sarutaro
     
  5. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    On certain hardware platforms, especially the newer popular Pentiums, the Acronis boot CD fails to provide adequate high speed drivers either for external USB2 drives or CD backups.

    Using the BartPE CD and the Acronis plug-in, you can create a customized boot CD which uses your operating system's high speed drivers as optimized for your hardware. Therefore, all image creation and restoring and cloning will occur at high speed rather than the lethargic speeds available from the Acronis boot CD.

    Unfortunately, using the Acronis plug-in, you cannot back up to or restore from CD's so the Acronis boot CD is necessary for this function and it takes an extremely long time.

    Whatever few additional seconds it takes to boot from the BartPE CD, it's well worth it as a tradeoff against working with the slow Acronis boot CD on affected hardware. If your system is already operating at high speed with the Acronis boot CD then don't bother with the BartPE solution.
     
  6. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Also, as I have mentioned before, the BartPE plugin is not available for d/l if you do not have a TI8 regestered!
     
  7. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks for your information. Sarutaro
     
  8. MerlinAZ

    MerlinAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Without actually restoring from a backup and seeing how long it takes (I'm not having any current problems and want to know whether to create a BartPE disk for a "rainy day"), how can I tell which drivers are being used with the TI restore disk and an external USB 2.0 HDD?
    USB 1 speed vs. USB 2 speed?
    Thanks.

    Oh, one more thing.
    How long does it take to create a BartPE disk?
    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2006
  9. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Not long........maybe 10 minutes tops.
     
  10. MerlinAZ

    MerlinAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Thanks for the fast response regarding the timing.

    Anyone know to to easily find out whether the Acronis boot disk drivers are at USB 2.0 or USB 1 speed on my system?
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2006
  11. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    I thought I was, but now I'm not at all clear: if I need the Acronis CD for certain drivers, then now & why is the BartPE CD possible let alone better?

    Chuck

    >>
    Unfortunately, using the Acronis plug-in, you cannot back up to or restore from CD's so the Acronis boot CD is necessary for this function and it takes an extremely long time.

    Whatever few additional seconds it takes to boot from the BartPE CD, it's well worth it as a tradeoff against working with the slow Acronis boot CD on affected hardware. If your system is already operating at high speed with the Acronis boot CD then don't bother with the BartPE solution.
    <<
     
  12. MerlinAZ

    MerlinAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    The Acronis boot disk, on some systems, only runs at USB 1 speeds for restores from external usb hard drives, since it is using linux drivers.
    The BartPE boot disk is using native Windows drivers, so it should run at USB 2.0 speeds for restores, which is considerably faster.

    That's why I'm trying to find out if there is a simple way to find out whether it's transfering at high speed using the acronis boot disk without having to actually restore my drive since I'm not currently having a problem.
     
  13. CWBillow

    CWBillow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    San Diego CA, USA
    Then I should be OK.... thanks...

    Chuck

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.