BartPE Plugin Removable Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bobdat, Sep 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    I just noticed that my BartPE CD with the TI8 plugin 791 has no capability to back up to CD or DVD or other removable media.

    I had to use my old slow but trusty build 826 Acronis Recovery CD.

    Did I miss something?
     
  2. storage_man

    storage_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    BobDat

    I haven't tested CD/DVD restoration, but when I run my Bart/PE environment, I can see all of my CD/DVD drives from within True Image. I really don't use the vanalla Bart/PE. I use UBCD4WIN which uses BART/PE. I may have to give a full test one of these days, but it does see all of my optical drives.

    Storage_man
     
  3. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hello BobDat,

    I have done a lot of work with the True Image 8 plugin for BartPE. As far as I know, it is not able to back up to either CD or DVD. You are correct, the CD/DVD drives do not appear as available backup locations. You can certainly use the two step approach of backing up to a hard drive and then copying to CD/DVD if you have a burning plugin, such as Nero, enabled in your BartPE.

    Hello Storage Man,

    You are correct. The CD/DVD drives do show up in the list of available restore sources in the BartPE plugin. I have successfully tested this with a DVD set created using the two step method. I was able to restore the C: Windows partition from DVD within BartPE. I have not tested it with a DVD created using packet writing software, but I think it should work.

    mustang
     
  4. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Thanks Mustang. I thought I might be missing something obvious.
     
  5. storage_man

    storage_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Mustang

    Now that u mention it, yes I can see them, but there is no way to write to them (CD/DVD drives). I don't think there is a plugin for nero to get INCD installed either.

    Well my take on most of these procedures is use WINDOWs to create IMAGES, USE TI's boot environrment to create CLONES, and to Restore IMAGES along with using BART/PE for restore only.

    Storage_man
     
  6. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Hello Storage Man

    There has been some work done on a plugin to get InCD working in BartPE. You can check it out here .

    I have not played with this. It does not seem that anyone got it to work with True Image 8.

    mustang
     
  7. storage_man

    storage_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Mustang

    Thx - I will check this out.

    Storage_man
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.