BartPE definition

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by twl845, Jul 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi all, Please excuse my ignorance. I am reading the IFW manual in possible preparation for buying soon. I need to know what the explanation of what BartPE is so I can read the instructions with some knowledge of what it is. Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. jonyjoe101

    jonyjoe101 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    united states
    bartpe is a 3rd party windows xp recovery bootcd or livecd. In order to make one you need a windows xp installation cd. The bartpe program (free download) will use the i386 files in the xp install cd to make you a bartpe cd.
    I mainly use my bartpe to run chkdsk. When the bartpe boots your computer it acts similar to a linux livecd but it will have windows type interface. One of the good things about bartpe is that you can add plugins, which allow bartpe to do many things including plugins to image your hard drive.
    From my understanding, bartpe will only work on windows xp systems.
     
  3. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Canada
    Just to add a few other notes in case you want to pursue the subject in greater depth, BartPE is a tool that allows users to create their own Windows "preinstallation environment" (WinPE or PE1) by using a Windows XP (or Server 2003) installation disc as its source. All the details can be found on its originator's web site at http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

    To build a "preinstallation environment" for more recent Windows releases (Vista/PE2 or Win7/PE3), Microsoft offers several version of its own so-called Windows Automated Installation Kit (WAIK) that includes ImageX and other tools for creating and "customizing" Windows PE images. There are also numerous other WinPE projects (LiveXP, Win7PE, etc.) based on the "WinBuilder" tool that you can read about at http://reboot.pro/
     
  4. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    I have a BartPE and have used it a few times. Recently, I had to use it to recover my Windows 7 machine, using the Macrium Reflect plugin, because my Macrium Reflect recovery disk would not work.

    I don't believe that BartPE is supported any longer and the freeware version of this product is now called UBCD4win. They are both great products and I always want to have one around.

    Read up on them both and you will like them. You do, however, have to have the time required to make the disk, which as previously mentioned, requires the Windows XP disk.

    Good luck!
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks to all. As I said, this will be part of a Image For Windows (IFW) installation and as I begin to read the installation manual it mentions creating an Image For DOS recovery boot media or a BartPE and I needed to know what it was so I can understand what I'm reading. :)
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    It automatically makes for you the IFD Recovery Disk and IFL Recovery Disk. You don't need to do anything. After installing the software it makes these two Recovery Disks for you. So, you don't need BartPE plugins.

    To make a IFW (WinPE) Recovery Disk, you need to download WAIK from Microsoft site and TBWinPE plugins from TeraByte site.

    To make WinRE (Windows 7) Recovery Environment, you need to download TBWinRE plugins from TeraByte site.

    Best regards,
     
  7. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    @twl845,
    I see that you already have a win pe boot disk, according to your signature you have active@.It's one of the best pe around imo. You can run the IFW plugin from this disk. hope this helps.
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Alladin & tincan - Thanks for that info. I'm beginning to understand. It will help as I wade through the manual. :)
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    You are welcome! ;)

    Very true!

    To do this, he needs to put the following three files in a separate sub-directory, and put this in the WinPE of Active@, to run the IFW:

    1. imagew.exe
    2. imagew.ini
    3. ifw.ini

    The above are in the TeraByte directory.

    Best regards,
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.