Bart PE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Jakson, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jakson

    Jakson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    My question is, is it necessary to create a Bootable Bart CD if you already have an TI10 installation CD when using it with the Vista operating system?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If the TI rescue cd works properly on your system and you're happy with the speed (USB 2 external drives, etc.), then you shouldn't need to build a BartPE boot cd.

    If TI backup/restore is really slow or doesn't support your hardware, then you'll probably need one.
     
  3. oldtimercurt

    oldtimercurt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    I had the same question but went ahead and using the wonderful directions made a BartPE for ATI 9. My external HD worked fine with the Acronis boot disk but an informal comparison shows that the Bart PE was an improvement.

    Doing an image verify with Acronis the initial time guess was about 4 hours. Using the BartPE it was 2 hours and almost instantaneously droped to 1 hour. Significant improvement.

    OTC
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It depends on the how well the Linux drivers in the Full mode of TI support the chipset. Sometimes the time difference can be very great. BartPE is usually second fastest to doing the backup/restore directly from Windows.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jakson,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Note that using a BartPE-based bootable CD with Acronis True Image plug-in allows one to boot the computer into a Windows-like environment loading the appropriate drivers for any hardware devices installed in the computer at startup, thus, it can be used as a possible workaround in case you have problems with Acronis True Image Bootable CD. For example, it could be possible that drivers for a particular hardware you use might not be included into the standalone mode of Acronis True Image (it could be because not all Linux drives are open source, for example).

    Also please note that BartPE-based bootable media based on Windows and Acronis True Image bootable media based on Linux and these medium supplements each other. Also as far as I know BartPE-based Bootable CD is not available for Windows Vista yet.

    Please refer to this thread to find additional information about creating BartPE-based bootable media with Acronis True Image Plug-In.

    Please note that Bootable CD included into the boxed version of Acronis True Image might not contain the latest build thus we would recommend you to use the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home to create Bootable CD. To get access to updates you should first register your software. You can find the instructions on how to create Bootable CD of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in Chapter 10. “Creating Bootable Media” in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Fedyulin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.