Bart PE Plugin

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Rod Williams, Apr 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    that is good but xpe is still to bloated for general use. It's memory and space requirements are not realistic for most systems.
     
  2. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Yeah, but the new one works under Geoshell too, so it will most likely work for you under bblean. Get them to email it to you again. :)
     
  3. Yurkesha

    Yurkesha Guest

    Comment line
    0x7,"ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}","UpperFilters","PartMgr"
    in XPE-PNP.INF
    :]
     
  4. Yurkesha

    Yurkesha Guest

    Can you mount image with this plugin?
     
  5. MrChris

    MrChris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    how might one obtain ver 1.6.0.132 of both snapapi.dll and snapman.sys. As i have downloaded the latested vers of both server and workstation and only get 1.6.0.131?

    MrChris
     
  6. Euser

    Euser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    32
    No the option is not available to mount and explore image files in the plugin. This would be very benefical and I wish it were added to the plugin...
     
  7. Yurkesha

    Yurkesha Guest

    Version 1.6.0.131 good work!
    And files:
    - bootwiz.sys
    - f11.cfg
    - kernel.dat
    - ramdisk.dat
    don't needed for working this BartPE plugin... (It needed for Acronis Boot Disk)
     
  8. AlanClarke

    AlanClarke Guest

    I have become very cynical about the TI plugin for BartPE because I could not get it to work acceptably on 4 different computers, using multipe Windows versions, service packs, etc. Also, from reading the forums, I cannot find anyone who has succeeded in mounting an image to explore it or restore it to a drive. There were many people attempting to write their own plugin but as soon as Acronis announced they were going to release one, everyone stopped development. Surely a company which has access to their own source code could piece together a product better than 3rd party hackers.

    Here are the results of my most recent tests:

    BartPE v3.1.3, Acronis TI Enterprise Server build# 1143, nu2Menu

    OS for building CD.....Backup...Restore...Explore (Y/N=Yes/No)
    XP Pro sp1. . . . . . . . Y*1 . . . N*3 . . . . N
    Server 2003. . . . . . . N*2 . . . N*3 . . . . N

    *1 to mapped network drive only
    *2 "Failed to read from sector 63..."
    *3 "Logical disk in use" error

    What I cannot understand about this product:
    The BartPE plugin has been included with the last two releases of TI Corporate Workstation and TI Enterprise Server. Both of these products are "final" releases, shrink wrapped, sold on various web links, etc., but the BartPE plugin doesn't work hardly at all. Why isn't the plugin distributed only among beta testers? Why is it included in a finalized, marketed package? Now, I would like to switch my entire approach on how to make this plugin work. Rather than tell Acronis what type of hardware/software, etc., I am running, how about Acronis describing exactly what their designer used:
    1) Bart PE Builder version
    2) TI version and build#
    3) Windows version and service pack#
    4) What is the image being save to?
    5) What is the image being read from?
    (i.e. hard drive type and partition type)

    My final conclusion is this:
    The BartPE plugin for Acronis TI fails on almost every menu item, button clicked, etc. Such a useless low-quality piece of software should not be sold.

    Food for thought:
    Did Acronis announce development of this plugin just to thwart 3rd-party hackers who were attempting to write their own plugin?
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,366
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.