Baidu Antivirus 2013

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by thanhtai2009, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You can turn off realtime protection for windows defender. Just go into the maing settings and turn off up date and then realtime scanning. It also allows you to turn it off completely. This is on a Win8 pro 64bit.
     
  2. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Thanks for the reply, kjdemuth. I don't know about updates but I did turn off real time protection within Windows Defender's settings. I thought all was well except when I looked in Task Manager and saw that Windows Defender's service was still running. That's when I went to Services and found that there was no way to shutdown Windows Defender (all action buttons were greyed out). Also,in Notification area the Action Center icon had a big red "X" showing and Security settings suggested I go online and find an antivirus/spyware application even though I had Baidu Antivirus installed. This is on Win 8 Pro 64 bit as well.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Not sure how you did it but I don't have any Defender services running. Even when I try and access it I get a pop up that says this service is not active. The mini filter service and defender service are both stopped and on demand start only.
     
  4. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    What antivirus are you running presently?

    Thanks.

    Later...
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    WSA and Qihoo 360
     
  6. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Thanks for the reply, kjdemuth.

    Can you explain exactly how you disabled Windows Defender in Win 8 Pro 64 bit? What antivirus were you using at the time you disabled Windows Defender?

    I'd be very interested in knowing if it's anything other than the steps I took.

    Thank you.

    Regards,

    Bob
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,436
    As far as I can remember I was able to disable Windows Defender in Windows 8 via services.msc

    I found it too heavy for my liking, and was not aware at the time that it automatically is disabled when you install a 3rd party antivirus.
     
  8. bobad

    bobad Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    Very strange, IE, Chome, and everything else works perfectly for me.
     
  9. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    some users had trouble with browsers, u can see it in the release notes, but it seems that it is fixed now. I have no problems too. :)


    http://antivirus.baidu.com/en/about.php
     
  10. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    well you guys are right, it need to be a conflict here
    cause my chrome is not starting with baidu installed and as i can see that its being fixed by the baidu team.. but i dont gonna change my setup :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013
  11. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    ~ Removed Off Topic Remarks ~

    a question has been keeping my mind busy for a while , is Baidu the new version of old Kingsoft ? if yes so what's ijinshan ? which one is the most similar to the old kingsoft? damn merciless similarities
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2013
  12. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
  13. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    it seems that the update problem is finally fixed, cause the last 4 days i got every day an update. good to know that it works well.
     
  14. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi MM,
    All this updating is a bug (see screen capture), as it keeps updating the same programme version constantly. I e-mailed Baidu last night about it and they gave this response today...........

     

    Attached Files:

  15. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    yes, i noticed this already, but i had not spoke about the program/version update. i just mean the database. i got every day 1 database update. But hundreds of program updates, that is not normally and as u said already it is a known problem/bug. but thank you for sharing. :)
     
  16. jackuars

    jackuars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Posts:
    17
  17. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Nothing fishy. It's China.
     
  18. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, but so far as i know Baidu Antivirus had as first this simple good GUI and 1 month later comes Qihoo with "the same" GUI ... that was weird... but ok, no one complains about. :)
     
  19. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Uhm, no, Qihoo had the GUI long before Baidu, in the Chinese version.
     
  20. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Uhm? OK, i didn´t knew the chinese version. Just the english version. So i thought Qihoo had the same GUI after Baidu. Thank you
     
  21. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Today it's updated automatically to Ver 3.6.1.40543.
     
  22. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    baidu still dont work here
    i have tryed the final and the beta
    i have changed from browser chrome to Firefox
    and also firefox dont start with baidu installed

    Im going now to contact the baidu support team!
     
  23. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Have they changed the avira update schedual to everyday now? And fixed the update issues? If not i dont really consider this program a free AV contender at all IMO
     
  24. MMRichter

    MMRichter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    i don´t know really, cause i saw no release notes right now. But the whole last week i got every day virussignature database updates. But there was a bug too with the programupdate, hope they have fixed that with the new version now.
     
  25. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Am i still the only one with problems when Baidu is installed? :(
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.