Bad/Slow performance after installing Bitdefender Total Security 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Surreal90, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Hi everyone,

    Since I've installed Bitdefender 2016 (Total Security), I feel like my internet browsing speed became really slow, Pages that used to just load instantly ( or take like 3 - 5 seconds) now takes about 10 - 15 seconds to load and sometimes even more!, I'm also noticing a big time difference for the time windows takes from "welcome screen" to desktop, Anyone ever faced that or know a solution/fix for it?

    What i tried so far:
    - Stopped firewall.
    - Changed adapter settings.
    - Disabled web protection module.
    - Used Bitdefender removal tool/Re-downloaded/Re-installed/Repaired.
    - Tried different browsers.
    - http://www.bitdefender.com/support/my-internet-is-slow-1100.html

    Notes:
    - Download speed is not affected.
    - Websites that has SSL/HTTPS connection are even slower than the ones who use the regular http/non-secure.
    - This is a fresh windows installation.
     
  2. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    I've experienced same thing with Sophos but there is no firewall in the program.
     
  3. auron12

    auron12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Greece
    Welcome to club.This is the reason why i quit buy their programs.Stupid web modules filter all network traffic.
     
  4. t3olli

    t3olli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    in the heart of europe
    Good evening everybody,

    good to know that I am not the only one. The problem is that BitDefender maintains the connections to the servers open. The connections have the status FIN_WAIT2. The vsserv.exe not ended the connections to the cloud. So the available bandwidth is always getting lower. There is a tool from Sysinternals TCPView, with which you can view the connections. The problem is caused by the on-access scanner and not from the firewall. (I myself have only AntiVirus plus). The problem has existed for much longer.
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    @Surreal90 What CPU and how much RAM do you have installed in your PC? Are you sure there aren't any traces remaining from previous antiviruses?
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    yeah. just uninstall it. it doesn't play well with w10. (assuming your os is w10)
     
  7. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Yeah, I don't see how they are ranked so well with performance on AV Test and AV-C.....they did well in years past, but I keep trying the 90 day trials and can't get past day 3. So much bloat, so much network slowdown...it's a shame. Great engine, crap software.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Exactly this.
     
  9. russ0408

    russ0408 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    On. Canada
    I used it for about a month. Started out running really smooth, then when there was updates available it wouldn't allow them through to download. So that was the end of Bitdefender.
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    The best thing of using BD products is when you get rid of them.
     
  11. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    Where is the best place to look for leftovers from other AV's ? program files and appdata .. (and delete this old folders)
     
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    @Spokesman Aside from those folders you should have a look at Windows\System32\Drivers to see if there are any drivers reamaining from antiviruses you have uninstalled. Understandably, it is not always easy to identify the remaining files out of the possibly hundreds of files in the folder. However there is a solution in the form of DLL Explorer from NoVirusThanks, which will scan your system and list all the loaded DLLs. If you look at the Publisher column, once the scan has finished, you should be able to find any remaining files.

    There is a thread about DLL Explorer here.
     
  13. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks roger ! I did a scan with dll-explorer no traces found from other AV's (thats good) :)
    it did find a few suspicious but thats from my printer HP envy
     
  14. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Hi Guys, I thought i was the only one facing this!, I was able to fix the Internet slow down issue today!, Heres is what i did (Hopefully it's not that risky to do so):
    - Downloaded the uninstaller tool and setup file (again..).
    - Disabled "Block port scan" and SSL scanning, Set the adapter generic type to "yes" (again....).
    - Restarted my PC.
    - CPU: Core i5.
    - RAM: 8 GBs.
    - Note: This was the first anti-virus to install ( just fresh windows installation, Windows firewall/defender are disabled)

    Now i'm trying to figure out how to fix the boot thing..
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016
  15. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    758
    Location:
    MICHIGAN,USA
    Surreal90, did you also uncheck early boot scan?
     
  16. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    322
    Found your problem. How does Bitdefender get such high marks when it turns 50% of the machines it's installed on to a slow mess?
     
  17. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks guys, After a couple of hours i managed to fix all of those issues i mentioned, and here is what i did to fix it (It may or may not help someone else in the future):

    1- Downloaded the uninstall tool/Setup file.

    2- After uninstalling was done, I restarted my PC and reinstalled it again.

    3- Updated the engine.

    4- Ran all scans: Quick Scan, Vulnerability Scan, System Scan.

    5- Ran the Startup Optimizer: (Disabled everything but Bitdefender) and OneClick Optimizer: (Deleted all files).

    6- Disabled "Block port scans in the network).

    7- Adapters settings:

    - Network Type is set to: (Home/Office).

    - Stealth Mode: (Off).

    - Generic: (On).

    8- Turned off Scan SSL.

    9- Deleted files in:

    \AppData\Local\Temp

    \Windows\Temp

    \Windows\Prefetch

    10- Restarted my PC.

    Now everything is working smooth as it should :).

    Update: The internet browsing is back to being dead again o_O!, I'm definitely gonna uninstall it and look for a different setup
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016
  18. t3olli

    t3olli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    in the heart of europe
    Usw the tool tcpview Form sysinternals und look if there are connection which are in the "fin_wait2" status. The tool does not need any Installation
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,516
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    BD is funny, not always a laugh. I've had BDIS2015 & upgraded to BDIS2016. That was a nightmare. So much so I'd never recommend it to any toaster/refrigerator knowledge pc user. The answer was then after jumping through BD hoops & still a fail was a repair install. BD gives the option of repair install as well as uninstall at the same time.

    A few days ago it took two successive repair installs to fix a BDIS2016 problem. So before uninstalling it I suggest if able to repair install(s) & a few shutdowns & reboots. Windows is weird like that, never had to do numerous shutdowns & reboots with Linux to cement a fix.
     
  20. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    SW USA
    Did you ever check to see if Windows Firewall was off? I have noticed over the years, and not just a BD foobar, sometimes an installer fails to make that change. A mistaken and popular belief is that, like some other products, BD needs/uses Windows Firewall; it does not, it is its own firewall.

    Otherwise...

    You should have set Profiles to Off. This presents an Activate Now state for PROFILE in the main UI and should be ignored.

    Or if you need Profiles, disable Let Autopilot manage my profiles and Real-Time Optimization.

    The Profiles Module is BD's most unfortunate blunder. But once the savvy user implements either of those settings, it'll leave things alone.

    Sorry you ran into so many problems. I am soooooo fortunate fate has blessed me with never placing me in entropism's "slow mess" league for the scientifically cited "50% (of) machines." :D
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening...I agree Bitdefender is a mess.Having previously used it I took advantage of an existing sale for Bitdefender A/V...well it stayed on system for a day...and was promptly removed. Never to again be purchased. Then the uninstall a Major PITA. After the reboot I was Stonewalled at the logon screen my keystrokes werent registering...I had too use Windows On-Screen Keyboard that worked,but is a Major Slowdown. Wondering if anyone has a Solution too my Dilemma. I'm not placing the blame with Bitdefender...but would appreciate feedback as to how to repair my keystroke problem. Sincerely...Securon
     
  22. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    I tried BD once, and it slowed my system to a crawl. So never again. But other av's using BD engine do not cause the same slowdowns.
     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    So many people have encountered problems, and sometimes on pristine systems, that one wonders why this kind of problematic behavior hasn’t been picked up by testing organizations. It sorts of proves that a personal test is the most reliable way to choose an AV.

    When an AV’s installation takes over a whole computer to the point that whatever you do, the AV wants to impose its presence, it is bad news. Norton in the past was suffering from this behavior, I suspect that BD is going through this phase, and frankly what’s the point to have a formidable detection rate if it disrupts your computer’s performance…
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016
  24. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Yeah, It's really not that cool that there are many users with such a feedback, and it seems that they are doing nothing about it, atm I'm back to my old setup: Avira Pro + Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2016
  25. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    758
    Location:
    MICHIGAN,USA
    In two years of having BD on two PC'S never a issue here, runs smooth,just renewed my license.
     
Loading...