Bacup rescue disk usage question

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Melita, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    On my Windows XP I make Full and Differential back ups of the entire hard disk regularly, using Macrium Reflect version 6. I also made the Windows PE Macrium Rescue Disk. If I make another backup-2 with AOMIEBackupper, do I need to make another rescue disk using AOMIE to restorer backup-2 in case of boot failure or similar disaster? Instead of doing that can I use the rescue disk I made with Macrium to boot into Windows and restore backup-2 that I made with AOMIE?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    AOMEI will require its own Recovery Media... you cannot use the REFLECT Recovery Media for that purpose.
     
  3. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    467
    Location:
    Europe
    You can use a single flash drive for multiple isos, such as both Macrium PE recovery environment (or whatever it was called) and AOMIE's, check out https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-install-multiple-bootable-operating-systems-on-one-usb-stick/
     
  4. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you. Unfortunately my Asus desktop does not boot from USB. Are there any third party backup software that does not require a rescue disk for image restore?
     
  5. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    467
    Location:
    Europe
    Macrium doesn't, you can save the PE files on one of your disks, and boot the macrium recovery environment using them, rather than a usb. Ofc, if the files get corrupted or encrypted or deleted etc., that won't be possible, which is why using a usb is better as the usb is not supposed to be sitting plugged in your pc unlike the storage drives. Ofc, the most important thing is the backup files (images), as the PE files can be recreated, unlike the former
     
  6. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a 1TB External HDD that is connected to the computer, only for manually creating backups, then ejected and stored away. Assume I have to wipe my computer HDD due to a virus or for any other reason, This will naturally wipe out Macrium or whatever software that I used to create my backup. In this situation, if I have not already done this, can I use another computer and create a Windows PE Recovery CD using the original backup software and then boot up the computer and restore my back up from the external HDD?
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    If I read you right, the 1tB HDD is just for holding images... it's not doing any BOOTing but it sounds like you may have a Recovery Media image on that disk.

    To the point... any Reflect Recovery Media of any kind (even from the FREE version) will be able to restore the images you may have on the ext 1tB HDD.
     
  8. Melita

    Melita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for helping :)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.