Backup seems to freeze.

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by jPaulB, Feb 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi everybody,

    I'm having a problem with my first backup with Paragone Backup & Restore 2012 (free).

    I have disabled the avast! (anti-virus), and the SpyBot-2 (malware).

    Running Paragon from the desktop will appear to freeze at about the 3% mark.
    • Simply sits there and look like it is working.
    • The Windows Task Manager reports it as running
    • The 3% status remains the same, doesn’t change.
    • Got fed up after 15 minutes and instruct Windows task Manager to “End Task”.
    • Task Manager will report the program as stopped
    • Task Manager will end the program

    What would be my next options to complete a backup?

    Many thanks,
    -Paul-
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    check hd for errors, run chkdsk
     
  3. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Did a check, from the Properties dialog box from the system explorer.

    Both disks, the main (C:) as well as the backup media (E:)

    Even ran the defragment tool

    Paragone still freezes.

    Dunno what to do next.

    Thanks
    -Paul-
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Let it run for longer this time. Give it an hour
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I gather this is happening when the actual backup starts, that is, after you tell it what partition(s) to backup and where to place the archive.

    When you checked the disk did you do the full check which ensures that all sectors can be read rather than just a check of the filesystem structure.

    The one that checks all the sectors takes quite a while on to do since all the sectors of the partition must be accessed.

    If you didn't do the full one then do it. In command line speak the full is:
    chkdsk X: /r where X is the drive letter of the partition being checked. A reboot is usually necessary so it can run before Windows loads.
     
  6. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Cudni and seekforever, I'll do that right away.

    I'm guessing the command line is the same as "run" from the Start button?

    Thanks again,
    -Paul-
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    You can do Run then put cmd into the box which will bring up a "DOS" window. Type the chkdsk command at the prompt.
     
  8. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Yipee! HoooRAY!
    Well, doing the chkdsk /r took all night but it seemed to be worthwhile. (ran the thing on both the source and destination drives)
    Ran a backup this morning and it completed in about an hour and a half. Tried the verift tool on the backup files and that wizard was happy.
    So I have back up of my desktop and feel far more comfortable with fooling around on it now.

    Thank you fellow. I really appreciate the time it took for you to help me.

    Regards,
    -Paul-
     
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    keep checking regularly with chkdsk. if the errors start reappearing, time for a new hd
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Good recommendation. If the /r fixed it then the odds are it repaired/mapped out a bad sector or several.

    Have a look in the Event Viewer to see if you can tell what was done. I think the chkdsk stuff goes under Wininit.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.