Backup on DVD 4,7 GB Acronis 9.0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by frehak, Oct 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frehak

    frehak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Are ther any possibility to take a backup to DVD ??:doubt:
     
  2. frehak

    frehak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Have tried but when i use DVD TI says i have bad media.... (DVD-R +R)
    With CD it goes good, but i needed 5 CD insted of 1 DVD
     
  3. drwmg

    drwmg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Laughing, but crying in my beer. Should I request a refund yet? (I'm using ATI 8.937 sucessfully with DVD's.)
     
  4. kenjan

    kenjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    According to Acronis, there are two methods of backing up to DVD:
    1.) Preformat DVDRW discs and use third-party packet-writing software (inCD, etc.)
    2.) Back up to a hard drive and then record to DVD+-R.
    I have had no luck whatsoever using DVD+-R; my image spans two or three discs. Keep trying different combinations; burnt almost 40 discs so far.
    I'm using 9.0 build 2289. I truly do not understand the problem; Ghost 2003 always worked great for this. :doubt:
     
  5. kenjan

    kenjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks for the advice. Actually, 9.0 is working well for me otherwise (er, except for the false message "image created with errors" I had once). My local hard drive backups and over-the-LAN backups have restored fine.

    But, I've spent so much time on the DVDR issue that I'm not in the mood to do the support ticket reports.
     
  6. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Trolling posts have been removed - Detox
     
  7. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    I am a little confused about "my image spans two or three discs"
    What size are your tib files?
    Have you tried creating tib files of 700mb in size on a hdrive and then burning several files to a dvd?
    Been doing this for years successfully
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello All,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please read the following article about DVD burning in Acronis True Image 9.0.

    If the workarounds, described in the above article do not help and you still experience problems with burning images to DVDs in Acronis True Image 9.0, please contact our technical support team with the details and they will provide you with a solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    _ _

    Alexander Fedotov
     
  9. kenjan

    kenjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    I've tried 700MB, 1.4GB, 4.2GB and Nero ISO, UDF, ISO/UDF, and Plextor UDF recording. I've searched this forum quite a bit and haven't found people with this problem, I guess it's just me. The data and stuff on the partition is about 9GB (normal compression).
     
  10. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    I assume you meant to say Plextools which is what I use.
    I choose in Plextools; DVD-rom maker>project>new>dvdrom iso/udf
    >drag and drop tib files to fill up bar not past 4.3>start>set write speed to 2.4(slowest speed)>create dvd.
    I also have the latest Adaptec ASPI layer installed even though it shouldn't be necessary in xp.
    It is also wise to have windows cd burning feature turned of.
    All other burning progs should be uninstalled and their references in the registry removed. Nero is particularily bad for this and can cause problems with other burning progs.
    To restore, I boot from the Ti cd, then use the dvd's as you would the cd's, last one first.
    I initially had various problems until trying this method.
    Try it if you care to, it does works for me.
     
  11. lostinthyme

    lostinthyme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    9
  12. kenjan

    kenjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks for the replies; I'm glad to hear multi-disc DVDR restore has worked for someone.

    My sets of two or three DVDs are fine according to the True Image archive checker. This is a dual-boot machine with Win2k on a separate drive; that partition fits on a single DVDR and restores OK from it.

    I've submitted a support request and report.

    Here is a bit more info from Menorcaman
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.