Backup Image Size

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by CRoz, Jun 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Hi

    My Backup Image size is only 5.23gb and my harddrive size is 24gb and after installed OS and all software 6 gb free space.I did Full backup and i used defaut options.
    So im confused if this is right size of backup or i done something wrong.i read this guide and followed it and if in this backup everything in it or i have to choose manually my applications which one i wants to backup.

    Or this is the whole system backup up to date.

    Thanks
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Usually with the default settings the Backup Image is about 60% of the USED space on the drive. In the Backup window, did you put the tick mark against Disk 1?
     
  3. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Yes i did this . Thr is Hard drive option and i have Partioned Disk C and D and i checked C drive and other one i mean D Drive i Unchecked it and result is this ...

    Pls if somebody can help me out..

    (And i didnt choose manually anything i mean any software ....)


    Thanks
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you unchecked the D part then how much is the USED part of C?
     
  5. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Thanks for reply

    My C part is 24 Gb and USED 16gb and here OS and all applications installed i mean Root Directory

    P.s I checked marked all 3 Exclude options as Guide shows (If i dont misunderstood)
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2008
  6. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Size...............

    Hi

    Sorry to Start new thread but im too confused and i wants to backup my hard drive .
    I did backup image(Full)and this size is 5.38 Gb.I have 160 gb hard drive and i partioned it 2 part b4.So C and D drive and my OS and other Applications Installed in C Drive and C Drive size is 25 Gb after installed everything 16 Gb is now used and Free 7-8 gb.I read this Guide and followed it but size confused me.I opened Backup image and checked inside thr is everything except Recycle bin. So whr is the problem or if this is right size??
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Re: Size...............

    If you have a spare drive, you could restore the image and confirm that it boots properly. However, if you can see all your data files as well as the Program Files and Windows files, then it sounds like a full backup.

    You did do a full system partition backup and not just a files and folders backup didn't you?
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Re: Size...............

    Generally speaking, you can expect your backup archives (*.tib) to be approximately 60% of your used space.

    My backup guide (line 2 of my signature below) shows how to create a "disk" backup (sample image B-4). Bootup from the TI Rescue CD and perform a new "disk" backup and compare the size with what you have already done.
     
  10. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Re: Size...............

    CRoz says he has 16 GB used on a 25 GB boot partition. I'd expect, in agreement with your prediction, that it would be a 9GB or greater backup. However, his backup is only 5.4GB.

    Unless he has a lot of highly compressible files in that 16 GB, it's hard to understand how it could be only a 5.4 GB backup.

    If he did a files and folders backup, that would also explain it, but he says he did a partition backup.

    A bootable restore would be very comforting.
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Size...............

    CRoz,

    In the other thread you said:
    This would exclude a lot of system files and a restore would not be bootable. I would suggest you create a new backup image and leave all three Exclude options unchecked and see what the final image size is.

    Also, how much space is used by the page and swap files? The more RAM the computer has the larger these can be. For example: On my 3GB computer, I get 6.29GB off the top for those.
     
  12. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Re: Size...............

    A big cluster-size and a lot of little files can also result in a small image.

    @CRoz
    - what is your cluster-size?
    - are there a lot of little files?
    - what kind of files where mainly on the concerning partition?
     
  13. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Re: Size...............

    Thanks for helping
    Now i got backup size 8.40gb.After i unchecked first 2 exclude option this size came out but im not sure i need to uncheck 3rd Exclude mark too.Thr shows i can add :tmp like tht kind of file i can exclude and i added them.
    No i dont have so many little files and thr mainly Windows file and Programme files and other whn i installed windows nothing else.
     
  14. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Re: Size...............

    Do it for a test. Then post here how big the image is.


    Amazing. I expected a lot of files which can be compressed. But try the 'test' I mentioned above.
     
  15. CRoz

    CRoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Re: Size...............

    Now i unchecked all exclude options and full Image size is 8.9 Gb.
     
  16. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Re: Size...............

    1. If you use default options you will get some compression. How much or how little depends upon what types of file you are backing up.

    2. The backup will automatically exclude files (e.g. pagefile) which are probably taking into account when you examine the amount of your disk.

    I think your backup is fine.

    F.
     
  17. rwt325

    rwt325 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    Strasburg VA
    Fro Acronis TI v11 Help:

    "You may restore data to its initial location, to another disk/partition or to an unallocated space. The target partition should be at least the same size as the uncompressed archive data".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.